We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliness of Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendliness of Staff”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were there for a conference and I thought the price of the room was a little over-priced for the hotel, average at best. The cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of each and every staff member that I encountered was very positive.

Room Tip: My room was on the bottom floor at the end of the hall which was great bc we didn't have to both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    127
    43
    20
    15
See reviews for
108
57
29
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I had a nice stay, but it is not an ideal property for business travel. The staff is just not trained to deal with simple matters like shipping & receiving, directions, restaurant tips and the like, though they were always courteous and pleasant. The nice in-room kitchen had no utensils of any kind (no dishes, glasses, flatware or even a bottle opener) rendering itself useless I am sorry to say. Overall, this is a clean and well managed property, and a good value for the price conscious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rather be in WDW
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Older hotel affiliated with the hospital. We were here for a conference. Very clean. Well located for what we were doing. Double beds seemed small. Great staff. Decent restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very convenient and very comfortable, The Hawthorne Inn is a great place to stay. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the rooms were impeccably clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonm1tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Hawthorne Inn is a fine mid-priced hotel in Winston-Salem, close to Salem College and fairly close to downtown WS. Staff is pleasant and helpful, excellent free breakfast included in room price. Rooms are comfortable and attractive, and there is adequate outside parking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enoch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelhard, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great to have a good place to stay for out of town doctor's appointment. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Hawthorne Inn several times over the past year, and each time, I have found their staff to be professional, courteous, polite, friendly, enthusiastic, and very helpful. They make every effort to accommodate my needs, and I sincerely appreciate that. The accommodations are excellent! The guest rooms and bathrooms are very clean, and the conference rooms are too. The hotel has an updated, somewhat elegant decor, while still being warm and friendly. The food provided for our meetings has been delicious. I have no complaints whatsoever with the Hawthorne Inn, and I would highly recommend it to anyone needing accommodations in the Winston-Salem area.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several different rooms, and each one has been of great quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Property: Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing