We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel for the past five yrs. This hotel is very clean and spacious. The rooms came with a mini fridge, microwave, and a coffee pot with coffee and condiments for it. The bathrooms have been updated since my stay the previous yr. Complimentary breakfast is good. The only negative about the breakfast room is the lack of tables for seating. Some guests had to eat standing or take it back to their room. The parking for the lobby is very small and can be frustrating if you get blocked in waiting for someone else to check in. These are very small inconveniences for me as the overall experience has always been good for the money.

Room Tip: The windows don't open over the parking lot but do if the room overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 430 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

A larger space for the breakfast that is not so close to rooms. We stayed in room 201 and heard every chair slide across the floor.

Room Tip: Ask to not be near the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were greetly by staff that were both knowledgeable and full of southern hospitality. Our room was easily accessible, clean and very comfortable. We were a bit nervous as the breakfast area was just across the hall, but there was no noise. We will definitely stay here again as our daughter is a student at Salem College.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

As others have mentioned, this is an older motel-style property and could probably use some updating, although the price was very good, so I don't feel like I can complain. The rooms and common areas were actually nicer than I expected after looking at the photos on the website. I would equate it to a Hampton Inn or similar "nice" motel. The free breakfast wasn't anything special (coffee was watery and the muffins and pastries were obviously from a package), but it was free after all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suburban_light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Definitely not the nicest hotel when it comes to design as the building is a bit on the older side, and the hallways definitely have an old-school feel to them. The rooms are a bit outdated (read CRT TV); however everything is nice and clean. This is a solid palce to stay if you have business in the area. Would gladly stay here again for the price I paid ($80).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkd952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Hawthorne Inn is a comfortable older property with a friendly, helpful staff. Bathrooms have been recently updated and except for the lack of a towel bar are much improved. Complimentary breakfast is excellent. Old Salem is just down the hill and is an excellent place to walk or jog. Several nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FurnitureGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed here as part of a group retreat. Everyone in our group enjoyed their stay. The standard double/double rooms were roomy enough for 2 people. The double/double suite with separate living/kitchenette area was great for relaxing and gathering with others. The newly renovated bathrooms were very nice and the rooms were very comfortable. The arrangement of the hotel is a little different, but allowed for privacy. The lobby area and conference rooms are in one area and the rooms in another. Because of this arrangement, we were not bothered in our rooms by the loud functions going on. (We only heard them as we passed through the lobby.) The hotel's location provided many options for our group. Some people enjoyed walking to downtown or Old Salem. Others made the quick drive to the mall. A few didn't even leave the hotel, but enjoyed the room service and onsite restaurant. Another great plus is the staff. They went out of the way to be helpful and polite. I would stay there again with a group or on my own.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are closest to the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.1 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#5 of 38 in Winston Salem
658 reviews
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#25 of 38 in Winston Salem
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $90 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing