We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawthorne Inn in Winston-Salem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Convenient location to downtown Winston-Salem and great room for a good price. Room was clean and spacious and I do recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanM0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 425 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel is clean and has a great price and is conveniently located near interesting things in the city. However, the two beds in the room were smaller than queen-size; the computer & projector that were supposed to be in my presentation room did not arrive; I ordered an Irish coffee in the Bayberry Bistro and not only did they not have any Irish whiskey at the bar, but it did not come with whipped cream, which tells me they don't know how to make an Irish coffee and they did not have any top-shelf whiskey for my spouse to drink straight. The complimentary breakfast area was clean and well-managed---able to keep up with constant flow of people. Free parking and plenty of it. Well lit parking lot.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfLitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Good price. Convient to the hospital. Free breakfast and quick and easy check-out. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Hawthorne hotel was highly recommended, so I decided to check it out on my next visit to Winston Salem. It was a great price, especially for a Friday night in downtown. The room was modern, very comfortable and it included a mini refrigerator and microwave. I was quite pleased with the variety of hot and cold breakfast items that were included.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortiegurlielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

For the dollar, this hotel provides very good value. Although not the most modern hotel regarding decor and structure, the furnishings are decent. The staff is very friendly and will do what is needed to maintain customer satisfaction. The restaurant is average, and decently priced, but there are many fine options around the hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORDOCTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I was traveling though town looking for a place to stay. I went by the back of Hawthorne Inn, thinking it was the front and moved on. I tried staying at a place downtown but it was full. They recommended the Hawthorne and told me it was owned by Wake Forest University and I am glad they did.

I again went to the back to check-in and that is when I discovered it was the back of the building.

This place is reasonably priced with exceptionally clean rooms and friendly staff. The rooms are large and well lit with all extras you would expect at a much more expensive place.

I also like the location. It is within walking distance of downtown with a lot of places to choose to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I along with our beloved Boxer, Lucky Boy just stayed at the Hawthorne Inn and visited local sites and Old Salem. We were amazed that we could take our dog for a reasonable cost and not have to worry about bording him.
Everyone was amazing. The check in/out desk personell were exceptional. Wayne helped us with information on places to see, eat and activities going on while we were in town.
Our room was very accomodating for our needs to take the dog in and out and everything was clean and exactly what we needed in our room.
The food was great and the complimentary breakfast was much more and better food than places we have stayed prior.
Great value for the money and we recommend it!

Room Tip: Just let them know exactly what your needs are and they will do their best to accomodate you.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luckyboysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
2.7 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
537 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $97 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing