We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
brownstown, pa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“felt like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The rooms were clean, the breakfast buffet was awesome, and the staff went out of their way for everyone. So friendly! The kids loved the pool, too. The lobby had comfy chairs, a sofa, a big screen tv above the fireplace.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slslo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are happy to read you had such a nice stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem and that you felt at home. Thank you for such a nice review. We hope to be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    116
    37
    18
    21
See reviews for
138
89
36
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hubert, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were in town for a soccer tournament and enjoyed the space we had in our room. The staff was very helpful prior to our arrival and while we were there. Breakfast was well worth the money. I will stay there everytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are glad to have been able to make your soccer weekend a good one here at the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. We hope to be seeing you again soon and would like to thank you for your review and for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great attentiive staff to business travelers. I stay here regularly for over a year. Rarely have any issue to comment on. If I do, staff resolved right away. Hotel is maintained. Great location near mall, restaurants and interstate. Would definately stay with family as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for being a return guest here at the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. Your business and your review are greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were in Winston-Salem for a medical reason and spent 5 nights at this hotel. I have stayed at Hilton hotels, including Garden Inn's, all over the country (I am Diamond level with Hilton). This is a nice, clean building. The gym facilities are pretty good for a hotel of this side. The rooms are clean and adequate in size. The price is reasonable for a Hilton Garden Inn.

We found the housekeeping staff to be both helpful and very efficient. They made us feel welcome during our stay.

This is in sharp contrast to the restaurant staff. We ate breakfast every morning in the restaurant as that was part of our room rate. We also had dinner one night in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was good: there were both hot and cold breakfast items, including fresh fruit. There were,however, numerous issues with the restaurant service.

We occasionally had to get up from our table to remind a waitress about a part of our order which she had forgotten. On a few of these occasions, we noticed that the waitresses were pre-occupied with talking with other hotel staff, and therefore appeared to have forgotten about our orders.

There was also a recurring problem in which the waitress would reach right across the table while we were enjoying our meal talking to each other in order to remove unused dishes. This happened a number of times and gave us the impression that they wanted us to leave so they could clean up. I found this type of "southern hospitality" perplexing. I note that on one occasion the waitress did apologize for her intrusive behavior.

There were, in addition, problems with the bar staff.

Room Tip: Hotel was relatively quiet, both because of hotel's location and because walls are fairly adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ddan7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The good: Beautiful hotel!!! Very clean! Located in a quiet area, with easy access to shopping and restaurants. The rooms were close to perfect. I loved having a fridge, microwave, and Kurig in the room. The beds were a little strange. We had no idea they were adjustable, until the next morning when we checked out. It was okay though. If I had to base my stay on the actual hotel and room alone, I would score it a 5.

The bad: I really don't like to write bad reviews, but I felt it very necessary. I will start by saying that the front desk staff was always kind and courteous. Sadly, this was not the case with the breakfast staff. My friend, her daughter, and I decided to have breakfast, at the hotel, the morning we checked out. The food was amazing. The staff we encountered were not. The first server was okay. She went out of her way to make sure my friend's young daughter received exactly what she wanted for breakfast, even though we had explained to the little girl that the hotel probably would not have her special pancakes. We were very appreciative and made sure we told her. The kindness stopped there. We literally felt uncomfotable, while eating. At one point, in the meal, I asked a staff member where I might find some soda, since I don't drink coffee. I was informed I could go to the front desk and purchase it. This would have been fine, if I had not seen the server just bring soda to the table directly behind us. Then, as we were leaving, I smiled and said, "Thank you". Instead of "thank you" or "have a nice day" in return, she simply replied, "Uh huh", in a very unfriendly manner. I smiled and returned to our room. In the room, my friend's 6 year-old daughter asked us why that lady did not like us. I didn't know how to answer her, because we had only spoken to the lady the two times she was short and rude to us. Honestly, I was asking myself the same question. It ended our stay on a very sour note.

Before my bad experience, I would have returned here in a heartbeat. Now, all I can think about is how unwelcomed we all felt.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nkotberin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I sincerely apologize if we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that I will take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Poor because of the Bar experience, This was after a bad experience, the Bar Manager was un professional. this was my second time staying at this property, the first experience was excellent. This last experience was not good just because of my initial bar experience traveling numerous hours and wanting to unwind and relax!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that you were treated with an undesirable level of service. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience a better level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

A standard Hilton Garden Inn setup. Hotel seems pretty new as part of the development on the east side of the Hanes Mall. In fact, there is heavy construction next door of an apartment complex, but the walls were soundproofed and we had a nice stay. Breakfast is fine. It's about a 5-mile drive to Wake Forest, where we were headed. We got a good rate and would recommend the hotel. Nice updated room with a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are glad you had a good nights rest here at the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. Thank you for such a nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
8.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
4.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Address: 1325 Creekshire Way, Winston Salem, NC 27103-3063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#9 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing