We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Local Area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Local Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I'm a Hilton Diamond member who spends 300+ nights a year in hotels. This is the best hotel in Winston-Salem, Greensboro, or High Point area. Remarkable service, solid breakfast choices, respectable amenities. You won't find a better hotel, regardless of brand, in the Triad region.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
First of all thank you for being a Hilton Diamond member, we appreciate your loyalty to our brands. Second thank you for all your kind words concerning our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. It was a very nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    112
    36
    18
    21
See reviews for
135
86
35
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am a a Hilton Diamond Member and stay, regularly, at HGIs across the US. This is a relatively new, well maintained property located in in the main retail area of Winston-Salem. Plenty of shopping and dining options around. The hotel is QUIET. My room was fairly sized, comfortable, and well maintained. Room service was reasonably priced (Chef Salad, Bowl of Tortilla Soup, and a bottle of water was under $20.00, delivered promptly, and was delicious.

My only complaint, and its a small one, is their receipt policy. In what I can only describe as a "BS blame it on trying to be green" claim, they post a sign in the elevator that states they will no longer be delivering receipts on the day of checkout. They will be emailing them, instead. This is a cost-savings measure-pure and simple. Saves paper and time and in NO WAY benefits the guest. Nice try at "green washing" and making things more difficult for the guest. Just a note--i still haven't gotten an email copy of my receipt!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravlinMan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are sorry you did not like the receipt policy but we would be happy to print you out one when requested. We are glad to hear you liked our "QUIET' hotel. We hope we will be able to host you again in the future with this new information on the receipt policy. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Am a regular at Hilton and particularly Hilton Garden. Have become fond of the HG/Homewood Suites combo. This was a 4 year old Hilton Garden stand alone. Property at first seemed a bit "off the beaten path," but turned out to be a reasonable locale in the end. Had a convention to attend "in town," but access was a breeze. Up-scale chain restaurants in the area were a plus. Room was fine, staff were attentive. Hard to find a negative. There is easy access to the large local shopping mall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
It is nice to hear you would have a hard time finding a negative about our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. Thank you for such a good review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed at this property 2-3 times a month for the past 2 years and would highly recommend it to anyone. The property is clean and well maintained. Breakfast is one of the best in the business. The staff is courteous and friendly. Everytime I arrive, I am recognized by name and all of my expected benefits are in place.

Rooms are comfortable and well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
The Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem would like to thank you for all your compliments regarding our hotel and to let you know they are appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel since it opened in 08'. On my last stay I noticed that there was no mattress pad on the beds. Called front desk with concerns and they told me that they didn't have any. OMG!!! The only thing between the bottom sheet and mattress is a fuzzy wool toper. Think about it! If someone sweated or addition bodily fluids went threw the bottom sheet you were sleeping on it. I'm sorry but that is gross & nasty, and a serious hygiene issue. I was told by management that they were trying to get some. Last week prior to making my reservation I asked if they had mattress pads and they did but only 5. I was willing to stay if I received a room with a mattress pad. The beds have gotten extremely uncomfortable and I won't be staying there anymore until things improve. Great location and nice staff but the owners need not to be so cheap. The hotel is still fairly new and this shouldn't be happening.

Room Tip: Ask for a mattress pad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 398Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay in the area and we apologize for the problems you encountered. We want you to know that we have addressed the mattress pad situation and we assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
398 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Although this inn is a few years old, it has been kept in like-new condition. The decor is still trendy, housekeeping is good, and the staff is helpful and friendly. I particularly like the back of the inn with its serene view of the woods (over the parking lot). My husband likes the ability to adjust the mattress firmness. All of the electrical items were in good working order (microwave, 'fridge, coffee maker, lights etc.).

There is no temperature vent in bathroom and the door would not stay open so we had to prop it open with the waste can so it wasn't freezing. The shower pan was slanted at an angle toward the door and the drain is in the center, so water accumulates and stays in the corner.

We also had some issues with the (not) fresh fruit at breakfast being so macerated from sitting in its juices so long it had turned effervescent.

Beware of the current construction next door. The access road in and out has one-way lanes and the contractors next door routinely block them so one has to carefully navigate against traffic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
 Your complimentary review of our hotel is much appreciated! We also regret to hear about your dissatisfaction in the breakfast you experienced and would like to let you know that we have been working hard to make certain our guests receive a breakfast that offers fresh and healthy options. Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights as a small break away from home. The room was nice (not overly fancy but clean) and the bed was quite comfortable. It was adjustable to your desired firmness which was a nice feature. The entire property is non-smoking but there were available areas outside for those who wanted them. The bar in the lobby was a nice place to stop off upon your return to the hotel. Everyone was quite friendly and helpful. There are a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance as well a small dining area at the hotel. It is on the outskirts of the mall area but was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle (and traffic) of the area by and around the mall. It was easy to get to the main highways to go to wineries and other points of interest. I would recommend this hotel it was about 5 years old yet looked and was kept as though it opened last week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeGirl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
 We are delighted to know you had a wonderful time here at the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem and hope to see you again when plans permit another get away week end!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
8.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
4.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Address: 1325 Creekshire Way, Winston Salem, NC 27103-3063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#9 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing