We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for Business Travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winston-Salem Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winston-Salem Marriott
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great for Business Travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stood at the Marriott on a business trip at the beginning of June and found the hotel to be very good for the purposes. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is very good and the parking is adequate enough.

I don't know if there is a bad view in the hotel. It is right in the heart of downtown and you can see all of the major buildings and skyscrapers from the windows. While Winston-Salem doesn't boast the biggest downtown in the world you get a very special feel for it from the hotel.

I agree with some of the other reviewers in that the hotel's fixtures are a bit dated. For some reason it really didn't bother me all that much as it reminded me of summer vacations when I was younger with my family then either needing an upgrade or being on a business trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    132
    55
    25
    17
See reviews for
72
49
27
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
294 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My gripes with the hotel probably aren't all that big, but the little things will eventually add up into a rather pedestrian experience, which is not what I expect when I go to a FS Marriott.

The room itself was fine, what you'd expect at any other FS Marriott. The hotel has a dated look to it, could use a refresh. Check-in was quick and easy. Service was pleasant.

So here are the gripes: air conditioner didn't work in my room. I don't use a lot of hotel services, so I put more emphasis on the room. Having an uncomfortable night of sleep due to the lack of air conditioning sucks.

Concierge lounge was closed, which is understandable because it was the weekend. There must have been some kids event going on, because before it was closed, there were kids being herded in and out of the lounge like cattle. Wouldn't surprise me if they closed off access to keep everyone out. When it is closed, I'm used to having the hotel provide breakfast to compensate..didn't get that here.

I still get to pay for parking even though all the other decks are opened up on the weekend..maybe the deck is at a prime location, or something. I understand this may be outside the hotel's control..for those of you visiting, if you want to avoid the parking fee, park a few blocks down.

All those things combined just soured my experience, and I'm sure that if I return to stay here, that the next stay won't be so bad. Nevertheless, I get the idea that I can get the same or better experience at a different property for a better price, so I'll be looking at other properties the next time around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspiring_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We got rooms at the Marriott at an extremely discounted rate by bidding online. I rarely use blind bidding as the hotel usually puts you in the worst possible room! We got two great rooms at the Marriott and had a very nice view of the city and the distant mountains. The employees there could not have been nicer. Every person we encountered was friendly,competent, and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the location in downtown Winston-Salem is great. There are many restaurants within a block or two, nice bars and coffee shops too. It is a lively street scene and a safe downtown neighborhood. Hotel parking is very convenient and the cost is much lower than usual for a downtown hotel.

Room Tip: North side has nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manshacktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'll confirm pretty much what most of the other reviews on this hotel say - hotel itself is average, nothing spectular but also nothing wrong with it - good business hotel. Nice bar & excellent breakfasts. Staff also very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JersyNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice business center hotel. Located downtown it is walking distance to most places. Marriott always has the best pillows and this was no different. There were a couple of down sides the sheets on the bed were very itchy and the room temp never got to the point I turned it down to. The service is great. Valet, front desk, and room service are some of the best of any hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Wedding in W-S caused us to stay here. The people here are extremely friendly and try hard to please. The urban coastal parts of the US could learn from them. However, the hotel was depressingly dated, metal, synthetic and worn. Beyond that, if you need a bed - they have beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golflefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottManagerWS, Front Office Manager at Winston-Salem Marriott, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your patronage and your kind words about our staff. We truly strive to show every guest how much we appreciate him or her. I do hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future, particularly after we complete our renovation this year. We are excited to provide our guests with a refreshed, modern hotel in our convenient downtown location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is average at best. The valet service was good and fast. Check in seemed to go smoothly until I arrived at my assigned room and the keys would not work. Called the front desk from the house phone on my floor to ask for assistance and was told someone would be right up. I waited about 10 minutes for someone to show up to help at which point I went back to the lobby since it seemed silly to wait any longer. The front desk clerk gave me new keys which did work.

The free Internet in the hotel is so slow that it is essentially useless and therefore makes this hotel not a business friendly location.

The location is great in downtown and there are several bars and restaurants in walking distance.

Overall I might stay here again but this could be a very nice hotel if the service and Internet were improved.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottManagerWS, Front Office Manager at Winston-Salem Marriott, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review about our Winston Salem Marriott. We want every guest to experience the exemplary service that we are known for, and I am truly sorry that we failed to provide you with a perfect experience. We would love to further discuss your stay. At your convenience, please call 336-725-3500 and speak to the Manager on Duty so we can address these concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston-Salem Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston-Salem Marriott

Property: Winston-Salem Marriott
Address: 425 N Cherry St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-2896
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#9 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#13 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winston-Salem Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winston-Salem, NC's only full service Marriott Hotel. Conveniently located downtown in the Twin City Quarter. Amenities include 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, our signature restaurant, Graze, concierge levels, room service, valet parking, business center, fitness center, glass enclosed indoor pool, in-house audio visual services department and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Winston-Salem Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Marriott Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing