We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winston-Salem Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winston-Salem Marriott
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
austin texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We got rooms at the Marriott at an extremely discounted rate by bidding online. I rarely use blind bidding as the hotel usually puts you in the worst possible room! We got two great rooms at the Marriott and had a very nice view of the city and the distant mountains. The employees there could not have been nicer. Every person we encountered was friendly,competent, and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the location in downtown Winston-Salem is great. There are many restaurants within a block or two, nice bars and coffee shops too. It is a lively street scene and a safe downtown neighborhood. Hotel parking is very convenient and the cost is much lower than usual for a downtown hotel.

Room Tip: North side has nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manshacktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    135
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
72
53
27
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'll confirm pretty much what most of the other reviews on this hotel say - hotel itself is average, nothing spectular but also nothing wrong with it - good business hotel. Nice bar & excellent breakfasts. Staff also very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JersyNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice business center hotel. Located downtown it is walking distance to most places. Marriott always has the best pillows and this was no different. There were a couple of down sides the sheets on the bed were very itchy and the room temp never got to the point I turned it down to. The service is great. Valet, front desk, and room service are some of the best of any hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Wedding in W-S caused us to stay here. The people here are extremely friendly and try hard to please. The urban coastal parts of the US could learn from them. However, the hotel was depressingly dated, metal, synthetic and worn. Beyond that, if you need a bed - they have beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golflefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottManagerWS, Front Office Manager at Winston-Salem Marriott, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your patronage and your kind words about our staff. We truly strive to show every guest how much we appreciate him or her. I do hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future, particularly after we complete our renovation this year. We are excited to provide our guests with a refreshed, modern hotel in our convenient downtown location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is average at best. The valet service was good and fast. Check in seemed to go smoothly until I arrived at my assigned room and the keys would not work. Called the front desk from the house phone on my floor to ask for assistance and was told someone would be right up. I waited about 10 minutes for someone to show up to help at which point I went back to the lobby since it seemed silly to wait any longer. The front desk clerk gave me new keys which did work.

The free Internet in the hotel is so slow that it is essentially useless and therefore makes this hotel not a business friendly location.

The location is great in downtown and there are several bars and restaurants in walking distance.

Overall I might stay here again but this could be a very nice hotel if the service and Internet were improved.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottManagerWS, Front Office Manager at Winston-Salem Marriott, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review about our Winston Salem Marriott. We want every guest to experience the exemplary service that we are known for, and I am truly sorry that we failed to provide you with a perfect experience. We would love to further discuss your stay. At your convenience, please call 336-725-3500 and speak to the Manager on Duty so we can address these concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caroilina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Marriott Winston-Salem. The front-desk staff checked us in efficiently, especially given there was a conference at the nearby convention center. Everything was clean and comfortable. I noticed that the elevators are overworked when occupancy is high. On more than one occasion, the wait for an elevator was long. The hotel is convenient to downtown and there are several restaurants and coffee shops nearby. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't like slow elevators, try to get a room on a lower floor and take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank java3882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottManagerWS, Front Office Manager at Winston-Salem Marriott, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We were so grateful to have you with us at the Winston Salem Marriott. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip back to this Marriott. It's a nice hotel with a really good bar and restaurant . We are elite members and we were disappointed with the concierge lounge. The room was too warm, ac wasn't working well. Also breakfast was a mess. Tables weren't cleaned, coffee and food not kept stocked. I had to ask attendant to get a toaster for the bagels etc. it was busy and marriott should have two attendants. The coffee was was very weak. On the other hand the night time offering was much better. The lady was on top of things and the food was excellent. Our room and bathroom were nice, much bigger than the marriott by the greensboro airport. We were on the 11th floor and the ac wasn't working good in our room. We should have requested a change of rooms. It never got better. Overall we will stay there again because of the location. Great restaurants walking distance-try sweet potatoes on trade street, it was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 767co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottManagerWS, Front Office Manager at Winston-Salem Marriott, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
I am happy to hear you would stay with us at our Winston Salem Marriott again, and were able to enjoy our spacious guest rooms and evening Concierge service. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not entirely perfect, however, and would love to address this for you. Please call the hotel at your convenience if you are able to discuss your stay with me further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
The Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#3 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-S...
#13 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston-Salem Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston-Salem Marriott

Property: Winston-Salem Marriott
Address: 425 N Cherry St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-2896
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#9 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#13 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winston-Salem Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winston-Salem, NC's only full service Marriott Hotel. Conveniently located downtown in the Twin City Quarter. Amenities include 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, our signature restaurant, Graze, concierge levels, room service, valet parking, business center, fitness center, glass enclosed indoor pool, in-house audio visual services department and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Winston-Salem Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Marriott Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing