We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel in an unexpected place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winston-Salem Marriott
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I rarely give 5 stars to a hotel, but I was completely satisfied with our 2-night stay at this hotel--surprising because I had never been to Winston-Salem and did not expect such high quality in a hotel there (an unfair preconception, I know). The location is walking distance to several downtown restaurants, shopping, and cultural venues, and it's easy to drive to places that are farther out. The hotel's parking garage across the street allows in-and-out privileges if you get a pass at the front desk when you check in.
We had a king room on the 16th floor--it was very large, clean, quiet, comfortable, and with a great view. The lobby was large and attractive and smelled really nice, though I couldn't pinpoint the scent. Service was excellent from all staff members that we encountered. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant so I can't comment on that.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and will return there if we ever have a reason to return to Winston-Salem.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Winston-Salem Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 419 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

The first thing I noticed when I walked into this Marriott was how clean it smelled. It might seem odd to note the smell - but whatever it was, it was very pleasant and inviting. My check in was easy and the person who checked me in was very professional.

My room was very clean and I have no comments on that (which is odd for me). I am very picky about cleanliness and this Marriott met the mark. No stray hairs. Towels were clean and bright (and stainless) and they had lovely soaps and lotions (Bath and Bodyworks Orange Ginger). The sheets were clean and floors were clean. My only complaint about the room is that I don't think my thermostat worked. It was a little chillier than I preferred, but it was fine. Next time, I will make sure to test the thermostat to make sure it works before I settle in.

They had a spacious business center that turned out to be very useful. It was easy to log on to the computers in the business center and easy to print what I needed. There is a great little store with reasonably priced drinks and snacks - very convenient and it was open late.

Overall, the staff was very nice and they responded quickly to my requests. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Millennium Center which is walking distance away from this fine Hotel. We had three meals at the hotel -- two breakfasts and one Rehearsal Dinner. Particularly noteworthy was the outstanding service and attention to detail exhibited by the hotel's staff. The room was clean, comfortable and larger than many. The heating system ran flawlessly, there were plenty of electrical outlets, and the bed was very comfortable. We saw several or our family members enjoying the Indoor pool. Nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdWarRelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently had two visits to the Winston Salem Marriott. It is a great place to stay for business.

The large bar area is good for business meetings. However, the food is limited with unusual combinations. The room service menu is much larger.

The rooms are pretty nice with the exception of the plastic shower curtains that need to be replaced with the cloth ones used at other Marriotts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcalianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was here for a business meeting...The room was quite clean and the bed was pretty comfortable! The staff was friendly and it seemed that they tried to respond positively to all requests. The attached restaurant (WS/Prime) was terrible, but there are plenty of fun restaurants in the surrounding area, so that wasn't a big thing. The room was fairly large, and the view out the expansive windows was great (I was on the 14th floor).
I would recommend this Marriott to others, and would definitely stay again if I was in Winston-Salem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This used to be a terrible Adams Mark hotel. Now it is the Marriott Winston Salem...Stayed there over the weekend while attending a wedding. From the moment we pulled up for valet parking til we received our car back two days later at checkout it was excellent. The entire staff was friendly and very accommodating the rooms were clean and spacious and very nice. The value was excellent. Even when I went to the restaurant to get my wife a piece of toast early Sunday morning they prepared it and said it was on the house...and welcomed me back later for breakfast. Even though we live in the area we may go back just to enjoy the service again.

Room Tip: North View look toward Pilot Mountain and other foothills scenery. South view looks toward Old Sale...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weberoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here only for one night on a quick business trip. I arrived late and the lady at the front desk was very welcoming. I did not have time to eat the complimentary breakfast in the morning due to an early meeting, but the rooms were average plus. I stayed on the 7th floor and there was no noise.
I don't typically stay in Marriot's, but this was an average hotel in a pretty good downtown location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
627 reviews
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
2.4 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston-Salem Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston-Salem Marriott

Address: 425 N Cherry St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-2896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#9 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#13 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $157 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winston-Salem Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winston-Salem, NC's only full service Marriott Hotel. Conveniently located downtown in the Twin City Quarter. Amenities include 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, our signature restaurant, Graze, concierge levels, room service, valet parking, business center, fitness center, glass enclosed indoor pool, in-house audio visual services department and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Winston-Salem Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Marriott Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing