We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEEEVER AGAIN!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I agree with UtahMarty. Staff was pleasant until I went back to the office after entering my room and showed them pictures I had just taken on my phone of the nasty carpet, the hair and spots all on the sheets, the peeling of the walls and floor in the bathroom, the unwiped counters in the kitchenette. But to top things off it was pair of pants in the bottom drawer of the dresser. After seeing all the pictures the young man got quite nasty and said they couldn't do nothing about all that I needed to call customer service. So I did and they offered me a free night of stay that I never recieved.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_collins35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd., responded to this review, October 16, 2013
The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I was disheartened to read that your room was not up to par with our hotel standards. Please accept our apologies. To ensure that a situation like yours doesn't happen again; my team will ensure that each room is inspected again before being assigned to a guest. I would like to offer you a 'Be Our Guest' certificate for a one night stay at any Extended Stay America in the US.

We continually work to improve our hotel; I truly appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, at wsh2@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    8
    12
    11
See reviews for
8
8
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The customer service was excellent! Friendly and helpful front desk staff. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Great deal for the money. Good location, close to the mall and several nice restaurants, however having a kitchen and full size fridge made it easy to eat in as well. Free WiFi was a bonus! The room was big and it was obvious it had just been renovated. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone that doesn't require a "high end" hotel, although it is alot nicer than many of the other hotel chains I have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattitravelnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd., responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you had such a great experience during your stay and that you found the room to be clean, comfortable and quiet.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Extended Stay America in Winston Salem, NC is an outstanding value for the money. It is all one needs for a comfortable, relaxing and economical stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast and coffee is simple and plain, but very good. The coffee is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms in my experience are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSH0370, Manager at Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd., responded to this review, April 2, 2013
"I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a ""home away from home"" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location was very convenient to shopping at Hanes Mall and nearby stores. And there are some excellent restaurants close by as well which almost made up for the room. Not that it was that bad, just disappointing. I expected a bigger room for some reason, but it did have a kitchenette area for cooking or heating leftovers plus a dining table as well. But the bathroom and sleeping area felt a little cramped. Service was fine and they did have a laundry room for guest's use. But like some other reviews mentioned, there just something about thte building that's a turnoff. It just seems dingy and dirty no matter what.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSH0370, Manager at Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd., responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at our property. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest that walks through our doors, which is why we value the honest feedback from our guests. We strive to provide a “home away from home” experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. Again, I would like to thank you for you honest feedback so we can focus our efforts where they are needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I really liked the service given to me here at the extended stay. Lisa, especially, is very nice and will make sure your stay is enjoyable. I was able to sleep well, and the TV is better than expected, although the channel lineup isn't that great. The kitchenette is everything you need when you need to stay here for quite a long time. Here is the bad thing...the first few days of my stay, I received a lot of bug bites. I did let them know and they took care of it right away. After that, I did not get anymore bites. If it wasn't for the pleasant service, this rating would have been lower. I was on a budget and this was the best deal I got at the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acwong27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Manager at Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd., responded to this review, November 13, 2012
"I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to respond. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

In response to your comments about the pests, we have inspected all rooms and completed any necessary services to ensure that we don't have a repeat of your particular incident in the future. I can assure you that we will continue to maintain strict quality control measures, and would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was booked here by my company and ended up paying the difference out of pocket to stay somewhere (actually anywhere) else. I can't fault the dirty room since lack of maid service is part of the ESA concept but this place was literally falling apart. Stairwells roped off with caution tape, vending machines that had been attacked with chisels, DOA microwave, frazzled carpeting and bedding and in the bathroom what seemed to be actual spots of blood on the walls. Add indifferent management and this amounts to the most ghetto motel I've had the misfortune to stay in.

Room Tip: I'd heard that some of the ground floor rooms had been 'renovated' but in the case of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd., responded to this review, July 19, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I checked in today. Our normal place was booked. So far I have removed 3 bugs. One was on the stained curtains (spider), one was flying over my head (mosquito) when I laid on the bed, and one (beatle looking) from the conforter. The carpets are horribly stained and there are cobwebs in the lampshades. In order to give my 2yr old son a bath, I had to clean the tub first- removing 5 black hairs. When I went to dry him off, there was a long black hair on the towel. The blanket has tons of stains and some kind of gunk stuck on it, maybe gum? The coffee pot is gross, good thing I don't drink coffee. We were told when we checked in we wouldn't have housekeeping. There is a note in the bathroom stateing you only get housekeeping if you stay 7 days or longer, and then it's only once a week. The airconditioning unit has food in the vents. The walls have yellow drip stains (looks like nicotine stains).
Also, you do get free Wii Fi, but be prepared it's only one bar. When you type in the password, they ask you to pay more if you want faster/better conection.
I did read just now on their webcites that they have "stylish" rooms you can pay more for, Maybe that's where the good removes come from.
I gave this place 2 stars because how cheap is was, but it's true- you get what you pay for.
Also, be aware there is no elevator. You have to carry your lugage up stairs.

Room Tip: bring your own bedding, I wouldn't sleep on these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd., responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Extended Stay America Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

Please understand that maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#20 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#27 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.

Property: Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.
Address: 1995 Hampton Inn Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Winston Salem
Winston Salem Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing