We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
360
96
23
16
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
360
96
23
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast ladies full kitchen penthouse suite front desk wake forest the entire staff university area home away from home basketball court fire pit each morning breakfast room living area the general manager oatmeal southern hospitality outdoor pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 511 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2019

My husband and I stayed at this Residence Inn for a weekend. Rooms are spacious and clean, the kitchen was fully stocked with utensils and cookware, and the staff was kind. There is a fitness center, pool, and tennis/basketball court on site. The hotel was centrally located to everything we needed: CVS Pharmacy was 5 minutes away, Walmart was 10 minutes away, and downtown Winston-Salem was also 10 minutes away by car.

There are two pizza parlors next door for quick meals, but don't sleep on what we considered the most wonderful part of our days: breakfast time (included with your stay). Yolanda, Theresa, Cynthia, and Precious were wonderful to every patron and we always enjoyed our meals. They showed us the meaning of southern hospitality. Thank you, Breakfast Ladies!

Room tip: The rear set of units have a treeline behind them, which gave our corner suite even more privacy.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager27106, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Thank you Andrea,

We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Residence Inn Winston Salem University. Our goal is to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible while exceeding your expectations. I am so happy to hear that a few special team members made your stay even more magical. Thank you again and please think of us on your next trip to the Winston Salem area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

The Breakfast here was absolutely amazing. It was always hot and fresh with lots of delicious flavor and pizazz! Yolanda, Precious, Cynthia and Teresa showed remarkable hospitality and service skill. These ladies made my stay more enjoyable by being considerate and consistent with the quality and aesthetics of the dining area! The staff here is also friendly and attentive. I will definitely return here and recommend it others along the way!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank AndrewFJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager27106, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2019

AndrewFJr,

Thank you so much for your review of the Residence Inn Winston Salem University! We are delighted to hear your stay was a memorable one and that the Team members mentioned above made a lasting impression . Our goal is to make each and every stay a memorable one for all our guests. We are excited to know that you will be returning and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thank you again from all of us here at The Residence Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Have stayed here three times for High Point Furniture Market. This is an older property so some expected issues such as plumbing. But requesting 3 times for toilet help means the building needs major plumbing work. Housekeeping was really lacking. Needed attention to issues of cleaning but they totally missed it, even with a note. They forgot half of standard cleaning, like wiping bathroom counter-tops and mirror and wiping of floor in kitchen.. Housekeeping needs improvement. They're just not interested.

The best part of this hotel are the wonderful people in the breakfast dining room. If you need any effective prayer, see Miss T. She has the connections and can help with any issues. And Precious, a lovely young lady, is, well... precious. These folks make the stay unforgettable. We love these ladies. They will make your day and your stay a blessed one. Thanks Ladies. Our team loves you! We will miss you as we won't be staying here again.

The hotel certainly ups the prices for Market, as all the hotels within 30 miles of High Point do, but this is a property to avoid other than meeting Miss T and Precious. They always save the day!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager27106, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Paulart,

My sincerest apologies on the issues that took place during your recent stay. I personally will be looking into everything you mentioned. I was hoping you can give me a call to discuss further. The housekeeping team will be going through a training for improvement As this is not acceptable. We value each and everyone of our guest and would love for you to give us another chance to make it right. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

I stay at this Residence Inn several times a year when visiting my daughter at college. The rooms are clean and nice and everyone is always very kind. I particularly enjoy the complimentary breakfast that is served by the self-titled “Breakfast Ladies” - Cynthia, Precious, Theresa and Yolanda. They are kind and joyful and the breakfast is always great. Thanks for starting all your guests’ mornings off off with a smile!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Departure801107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyage14029994867, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thank you so much for your review of The Residence inn Winston-Salem University. We see you only gave us a 1 star rating but loved your stay. Is there a way you can help us correct the 1 star? Please feel free to reach out if there was any troubles during your stay we would love to correct them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom loft room. The beds were comfortable, and it was nice to have so much space.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get much sleep as it was super noisy. As another reviewer mentioned, there are many creaks. When my daughter walked anywhere, it was so creaky below her loft. I felt sorry for the people below us as am certain they could hear us walking around as well.

We heard everything outside-garbage cans being moved by the next door business, sirens, etc. The windows/walls are not sound proofed at all. It was louder than anywhere I have stayed in cities.
A disappointing stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Bluewater777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager27106, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thank you for your current review of our property at the Residence inn Winston Salem. I apologize we did not meet your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews