We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel is very nice. Having a room that includes a kitchen area and living area is a great step up vs. the normal hotel room. The service was also very good. Cynthia does a great job serving the patrons during the evening social hour!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 407 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

My entire two week stay at this hotel was great! Our group of over 60 must have been extremely difficult to accommodate but the staff bent over backwards to make us feel right at home. The Breakfast Ladies - Betty, Wanda, and Theresa - were fantastic every single morning. DeCarlos at the front desk was an exemplary employee, but more importantly a great guy. Aside from one of the security guards (who was an unprofessional jerk) our stay was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone rolling through Winston-Salem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The staff did a terrific job of making me feel welcome, especially Cynthia in the dining room for the evening events.The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff stopped through multiple times a day. The breakfast included was great as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DariusMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. Cynthia is one of the keys to our success and we will relay your compliments We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have a long term assingment in Winston-Salem. The Residence Inn Winston-Salem is as close to going home at night as I can get. The front desk folks great you sincerly and treat you as family. Cynthia one of the hostesses of the Evening Social, will brighten your evening. The breakfasts are good and they have a wide variety of offeings. The evening socials are a nice relaxing time with good comfort food spirits and soft drinks.

I spend every week on the road in hotels. This a rare good one !!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Our staff is our greatest asset. Your feedback contributes to our success, and your recognition of DeCarlos and Cynthia is appreciated. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn Winston-Salem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The Residence Inn became my home away from home during my two-week stay. The staff is second to none. Attentive, knowledgeable, and always willing to go the extra mile. DeCarlos at the front desk and Cynthia who runs the evening social hour most nights are two of the nicest and helpful hotel employees I've ever come across.

The rooms are large, well-appointed, and clean. I was impressed by the kitchen as well. There is a full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, and a good selection of pots and pans to cook with. Plus they throw in some bags of popcorn everyday free of charge!

The property also features a nice pool and communal seating area, which includes a fire pit. It was great to be able to relax by the fire on some nice late summer nights.

You won't regret your decision to stay at the Residence Inn...

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank AdamSccki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Our team is committed to providing exceptional Service to our guests. Your compliments to DeCarlos and Cynthia will be relayed to them, and we thank you for recognizing their service. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

With the exception of the security guard (who was unprofessional, rude, and arrogant) this hotel had an incredibly welcoming staff. The Breakfast Ladies made our party feel right at home. We had a large party staying for two weeks and Wanda, Theresa, and Betty treated us like family. Cynthia, who ran the Happy Hour, was also wonderful. The folks at the front desk were also so nice to everyone. DeCarlos Brown really bent over backwards to accommodate our group. When we would return from a long day, he was always helpful. Really first rate hospitality. Stephanie was nice as well. We stay at many hotels and have always loved the Residence Inn. This crew was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I traveled here on business and my 2 consecutive stays.. From the sales staff that arranged my reservation to the front staff that were always accommodating with any request... Also, the evening socials, especially the evening ones lead by Cynthia (sp) were always very nice...

The only down part to the stay was some guests that would hang out outside the hotel until late at night, into the morning...

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#3 of 39 in Winston Salem
695 reviews
2.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 39 in Winston Salem
641 reviews
3.9 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#17 of 39 in Winston Salem
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Address: 7835 N Point Blvd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $125 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing