We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Get Together”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Get Together”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Upon arrival and to the end of our four days there, my family and I received nothing but the best customer service we have ever received to date. The three rooms we had were spacious and clean and housekeeping was always there for us when we needed anything. But, the best start to our day was the courteous and friendly service we received from the wonderful Breakfast Ladies (Wanda; Cynthia; Betty and Theresa). Breakfast each day was outstanding, but nothing compared to the Service we received. They all had a smile for us and couldn't do enough for us and even when they were busy, they still took the time to make everyone feel welcomed and special. Again we can say enough about the cleanliness and overall customer services we received at this Residence Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbeHNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for providing us feedback on your stay. Our "Breakfast Ladies" and the rest of the team thank you for recognizing their efforts, and we look forward to hosting your family again in the future. Please let us know if we can provide any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    78
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
181
35
8
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great stay at the Residence Inn in Winston Salem. The entire staff was excellent especially Cynthia, Wanda, Betty and Theresa for breakfast in the mornings. They were awesome. Every morning for breakfast was great. The rooms were very nice and a perfect set up for our family for the weekend. Would definitely stay again next time in the area.

Mike C

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Your feedback is important to us, and is highly appreciated. We have passed on your recognition of the Breakfast Team to the Ladies, and they wanted me to send their appreciation your way. We look forward to hosting your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faison, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Beautiful and spacious, very nice and courteous was my opinion upon arrival. But after meet-ing the staff that was so friendly and helpful beyond good customer service was great! That was not the tip of the iceberge, every morning having breakfast was out of this world. The atmosphere from the breakfast ladies took my breath away, so nice, kind, respectful, delightful, helpful beyond excellence, anything and wayway possible they were there for you. Made you feel so-so special and pampered and I believe it was all from their hearts and they love what they do. I even watched and noticed that all was treated the same every morning, nothing change, all was excellent! Breakfast Ladies are the BOMB. 3/sisters and mom thank you all!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This has been my favorite Residence Inn yet, and believe me, my family and I have stayed with this hotel brand many times. I especially enjoy waking up to the courteous and friendly service of Wanda and "The Breakfast Ladies" at complementary breakfast. The entire atmosphere at this hotel resembles that of an actual apartment complex or friendly neighborhood, with your fellow guests stopping to say hello and engaging in lively conversation. I appreciate how the entire staff, including those at the front desk and the cleaning and maintenance crew are very attentive to the customer's needs and go above and beyond my expectations. Yes, I am going to do what I rarely ever do and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for relaxing, friendly environment to settle down a couple of days in Winston- Salem. I wish I could stay longer, but those four days here was indeed a luxury!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Ms. Wanda and "The Breakfast Ladies" have great customer service and make a wonderful breakfast! The dinners were also great. Rooms had good wifi and the rooms were plush and renovated. All TVs were HD flat screens, but the real gem is the hotel customer service. Its great.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Good Afternoon - Thank You for choosing to stay with us at the Residence Inn - Winston-Salem. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations, and the team is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know if we may provide any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My mom and I just needed to getaway and relax after losing my dad on June 3rd. We had no idea where we would go. It was a blessing that we ended up here. The staff was so welcoming and sweet. The room was clean, well equipped and a lot of great amenities. The front desk was great and "the breakfast ladies" Ms. Wanda, Ms. Theresa and Ms. Betty were the best. Whenever we are needing a break we surely will visit again. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel was excellent. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very good with great selections. We only stayed one night, but I would certainly stay again if we ever go back to Wake Forest. it was convenient and there are restaurants and fast food places in the area.

Room Tip: The sofa bed in the queen room would not open unless you move the sofa back. The TV stand was in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgrannyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Property: Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Address: 7835 N Point Blvd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing