We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed at several hotels in the North Point area and by far this has been the best. The room was spacious with comfortable furniture and bed. The kitchen, bathroom and sleeping area were exceptionally clean. Dark out curtains worked great to keep the morning light out. Lovely grounds and the fire pit was going one night I was there. Complimentary breakfast had just about anything you could want...even healthy options. No hestiations returning there to stay. Don't be off put by the area around the hotel. Although it a business area I felt safe coming and going.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    62
    15
    9
    13
See reviews for
149
24
7
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our stay was great. The property has just been renovated so its nice but its the staff that makes you want to stay here. Betty and Theresa were great at breakfast and Austin took care of everything we needed. Our room was very clean as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I traveled to my hometown of Winston Salem, NC for a funeral and stayed at the Residence Inn Marriot. My overall experience was AWESOME. I had a few kinks like a water main break which caused us to go without water for several hours, but the staff kicked it into high gear to make sure that we all had what we needed to be comfortable during the ordeal. The entire staff was great, but there were some very exceptional staff members that I would like to ackowledge: Wanda, Deborah, Austin, Dana & Betty. You all made our stay extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The staff was very polite and helpful. Theresa and Wanda treated us like family and it made the trip more enjoyable. The rooms were spacious and clean and the daily breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices.

Larry and June

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The unique style of this hotel makes it a pleasure to stay there. The friendly and helpfull staff can not do enough for you. The service was just great. This is the best hotel that I have ever stayed at and I have travelled most of the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

JSA

I have stayed at this location several times and always walk away impressed. As with a lot of Marriott properties, remodeling looks great and freshness of lobby and rooms adds to the stay. The staff is extremely courteous and friendly especially Austin in the evenings and DeCarlos in the mornings. Always happy to see those two when in town for business and know they will go the extra step to make stay comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our stay was perfect. The rooms were very spacious for my family and I. The complimentary wifi worked great, the person at the desk Austin was very helpful with any questions we had, and they offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning that was way more than i expected. Rob the maintence man helped us with out luggage they go out of their way to help in any way they can at this property. Highly recommended!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
4.5 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
2.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#9 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Property: Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Address: 7835 N Point Blvd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-3209
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing