We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hampton Inn -- highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Hampton Inn -- highly recommend”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at this property on a Saturday night while in town for a family event. Everything about it was a good experience. The front desk was quick and courteous; our rooms (we had 2 rooms -- a handicapped king and a two-queen room with a connecting door) were modern, well-appointed, clean and very comfortable -- great beds!). The property as a whole was clean and modern; the breakfast spread was plentiful, the proper temperatures, and very generous. Loved our stay and would definitely return the next time we are in W-S. Thanks Hampton Inn for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank housecat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnWS, Manager at Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
It makes me so happy when I read that someone had a delightful stay! I'm glad that you liked our New Queen Beds. It's been a long time coming, but it has been so nice to upgrade them from our old two double beds. Thank you again for your amazing review and we hope to see you soon!
Bryan Haugh
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    160
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
225
112
47
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were traveling with three families. We made a quick stop for the night. The facilities were great. The Motel was quiet. The Contintental Breakfast was good. We left rested.

Room Tip: Outside pool was closed for the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnWS, Manager at Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Even if it was only a quick overnight stay, I'm glad that you found everything enjoyable. Something new that we have added to our hot breakfast is the new Hot Oatmeal which is served every day. This offers another quick and healthy option for our guests on the run. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Bryan Haugh
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Every time we stay at Hampton Inn, we are not disappointed. From the check-in to the check-out, we encountered professionalism and employees happy that we are there.
The lady who worked the breakfast was most cordial and inquired if everything was fine. The rooms, the bedding, and the bathroom were clean and comforting. TV reception and internet service was very good.
On a green note, I am glad to see the use of CFL bulbs to save energy.
We have stayed at higher end hotels and many times we do not receive the level of service that we receive at Hampton Inn
Thank you every one at the Winston Salem Hampton Inn and a Merry Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnm885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnWS, Manager at Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing the experience you had at our hotel. We are always looking for ways to upgrade our guests' experiences and you touched on a couple of things that we have recently done. We are offering HD television in all of our rooms as well as the free Wi-Fi. When we upgraded to our Perfect Mix Lobby we also increased our business center capacity and now offer four computers for our guests to use. As part of our Green Initiative, we are also offering recycling bins in the lobby in addition to the CFL bulbs you mentioned and other conservation efforts.
It's always nice when someone is able to pick up on the small things that our hotel is doing. Thank you again, and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Bryan Haugh
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here while travelling for business. The hotel has been recently updated -- nothing overly fancy, but the standard Hampton Inn experience. Service was just okay, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoCompromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnWS, Manager at Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
I'm glad that you notice our Perfect Mix Lobby. It has really turned our public space into a great place for our guest to use and enjoy even outside of the typical breakfast hours. We would love for you to stay with us again in the future if you are ever in the area for business or leisure. Thank you for your review.
Bryan Haugh
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I had a problem at check-in (not their fault). Manager overheard discussion and took the iniative to step in and resolve the issue. Much appreciated!Good breakfast with a lot of options for healthy or comfort food.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnWS, Manager at Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that we were able to take care of you during your stay. I think you have hit the nail right on the head when speaking about the people that work here. We may look and feel like the typical Hampton Inn, but it is our staff that makes us special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn to visit the Reynolda House and downtown Winston Salem and could not have had a better stay. Room was clean and spacious. Bed was comfortably. Complimentary breakfast was especially good and very quiet.

Room Tip: Stayed in a king size suite very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rialou116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnWS, Manager at Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Reynolda House, Old Salem, and the Downtown area are just a few local attractions that make our location great for travelers. We are glad you had such a nice stay at our property and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Bryan Haugh, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Arrived early in W-S for a conference but the friendly hotel staff allowed my wife to check in early to a quiet room as requested. Appreciated this a lot! Standard, clean Hampton Inn room although I have seen more more high end Hampton Inn bathrooms. Still, nothing wrong with this one and glad to have the Hampton hospitality again. Business center and gym were all accessible and in great shape (outdoor pool was closed for the year) It's hard to go wrong with Hampton.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewilsonswanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnWS, Manager at Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
I am very pleased we were able to accommodate your requests and early arrival. Our staff always goes out of their way to try to fill all of our guests' wants and needs. In regards to your comment about the bathrooms, we too have noticed that it is time for some updates and we are working to make some more modern changes in that area within the next year. Hopefully the next time you stay with us you will be able to see end result. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, and we hope you travels bring you our way in the future.
Bryan Haugh, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
506 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
8.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall

Property: Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
Address: 1990 Hampton Inn Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27103-7102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#5 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 130 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? Either way, we will be sure to provide you with a great stay and free hot breakfast in the morning! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - i-40 / Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Hampton Inn Hanes Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing