We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Convenient Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great, Convenient Place to Stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We have stayed here twice and have a third stay already booked, since we regularly visit this area for a religious convention. The hotel staff are very courteous. The rooms are immaculate, comfortable (internet access, fridge, coffeemakers, etc.) and the hotel is very conveniently located to all the main restaurants in town, as well as the mall. The breakfast is impressive- more than just coffee and donuts. We always try to stay here when we are in town!

  • Liked — convenience, fridges in rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank curlsaremorefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    57
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
61
31
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NEBRASKA
Level Contributor
326 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Everything at this hotel was disappointing.
To begin with, we had requested a 1st floor room and were given one on the 5th floor.
Everywhere you looked there were signs that said this hotel was a 100% smoke free environment. Well, the smoke stench on the elevator and in the hallways was bad enough to gag you! It seeped into your room past the bathroom and kitchenette area.
Comfort was no where to be found. The outdoor pool was freezing! You couldn't warm up in the shower as it took a good 5 min. for warm, not hot water to reach the room. The room was warm. We left the air conditioner on full blast all night and it never did cool off.
The bathroom faucet made a terrible noise everytime you turned it on.
The room contained a great many pillows, but they were all the same. Nothing but fluff that squished totally flat. They also like to sink down between the bed and wall.
Breakfast was the biggest disappointment. It was not the typical savory starts breakfast served by this chain, and it was not as described in the room directory. There were no boiled eggs, or sausage, or biscuits and gravy. There were some pre-maid cold sandwiches that were who knows how old that you could warm up. No thank you!

  • Liked — suites were spacious
  • Disliked — smoke smell
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HUSKERTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

This hotel is close to the mall, which is nice, but the main reason we stayed is for the room with the jacuzzi tub. It's big enough for two people, lined with mirrors and has a fireplace on one side. The fireplace is actually two-sided, so it can be seen when you are in the bed as well. The fireplace really creates a great atmosphere and it beautiful to look at. It was a much needed romantic getaway for us and I recommend it to anyone looking for that.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
18 Thank mountaintravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2005

We stayed for 1 night in July whilst travelling from Ashville to Wilmington. It is conveniently located near a large shopping mall which has several restaurants so it is ideal for an overnight stop. The room was clean and roomy although the air conditioner was noisy. The staff was very polite but the receptionist failed to listen on our arrival as we clearly stated that the room had been pre-paid but still had a bill pushed under our room door in the morning. This was however speedily rectified by the morning staff.
There was not much selection at the complimentary breakfast. Depending on the other guests we suspect it could be quite noisy as you could hear people talking in the corridor outside our room.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjm_wjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2005

Spacious rooms... Enjoyable Manager's Reception (Monday through Wednesday)... Because I travel extensively, room comfort and staff personability are key. All of the rooms I have stayed in so far (at least four different rooms to date) have a mini-fridge, microwave, and lots of space! This Comfort Suites has an excellent Sales Manager -- her name is Joyce -- and we have found her to be the heart and soul of this hotel. She personally makes sure our work crews enjoy their stays. I sincerely have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We love work crews. The hotel is in a great central location within minutes of every address in the Triad. Easy access to 1-40, Business 40, and 52. Please call our sales department to discuss corporate travel, group travel, or meeting room needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2004

We recently spent a night at this Comfort Inn and enjoyed it very much. The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was better than most we have encountered.

Helpful?
2 Thank MVGirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 17, 2004

I recently stayed at the Comfort Suites in Winston Salem, North Carolina. The toliet overflowed. When I called down to request that some one from maintenance or a plumber to come and solve the problem. I was told that I had to clean the bathroom, be quiet or get out. This is an example of very poor costomer service.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#21 of 38 in Winston Salem
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 38 in Winston Salem
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall

Property: Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
Address: 200 Capitol Lodging Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27103-7112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find our family friendly hotel conveniently located just off Interstate 40 and right across the street from the Hanes Mall. Enjoy easy access to shops, museums, historic buildings and prestigious universities. Our Winston-Salem hotel is easily accessible to downtown Winston-Salem and the Piedmont Triad International Airport. For travelers on their way to the coastal resort city of Myrtle Beach, the Comfort Suites Winston-Salem is the perfect destination for an overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing