We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Winston-Salem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Weekend in Winston-Salem”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Went to Winston-Salem for the Va Tech - Wake Forest football game. We stayed at the Marriotte Winston-Salem Hanes Mall. The rooms were clean and the staff could not have been more courteous or helpful. The hotel is in a great location - lots of restaurants, shopping (Mall close by) and easy access to downtown.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We chose a basic King room but ask they staff; tell them your needs or what you want,they are super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
JoeB,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Is was our pleasure to be your host hotel during your visit for the Va vs Wake game. We look forward to your return for shoppimg or for another game. Safe travel until then~

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
29
11
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Went there for a training class in one of their conference rooms. Nice facilites and reasonably clean. You can see the sign from I-40, but getting to it can be a challenge for an out-of-towner. Even my GPS couldn't get me there! The area around Hanes Mall is always very busy, so you will probably be in the wrong lane at some point, but that way you get to see more than you planned. Many restaurants nearby for lunch to chose from.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fortenberry1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
SLCarter32,

Thank for taking the time to comment about your recent visit to the Courtyard Marriott Hanes Mall. It is the goal of each of staff to make all of our guest feel welcome and that they have a "home away from home" with every visit. Please stop by my office on your next visit so I can welcome you in person and show you the exciting new changes we are making in 2012!

Vicki HIatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I had the best experience at this hotel. I stay at hotels every week three to four nights. I typically stay at same hotel for over a month at a time. The staff made me feel like I was coming "home" not being away from home. Clean, quiet, made to order breakfast, near great restaurants and shopping. NOT on a busy street, but close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLCarter32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Space Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed for a wedding so the party had many rooms reserved. What was amazing is that the same staff worked the whole weekend, every day! When asked, they said they worked the whole time period when a large group was there. The rooms were very nice and the rate was exceptional for this nice a hotel. Great "main room" in the lobby with two computer terminals, sofas, and large flat screen tv. Nice pool with big gazebo outside. Indoor hot tub. Breakfast was very good with a large selection and staff continued to make our stay a great one. Highly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Travelnmaxx,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! It gives the staff great pleasure to know we have succeeded in providing the best of service and amenities for our guests. We appreciate that you noticed our special attention given to groups. We are here to assist with all the planning so you can enjoy the time with your friends and guests.

You will need to return next year to see our new hi-tech lobby, poolside fire pit and Bistro Cafe!

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I've been staying here every week for about 4 months now and not once did the service fall anywhere below excellent. The Front Desk is very helpful and accommodating and prompt.
The breakfast room is always so cheerful and friendly and make you feel very welcome and make everything to order to your liking.
The fitness room is small but not crowded, though it could do with some more weights.
I haven't used the jacuzzi or the pool but have seen others there all the time.
All in all, one of the best Marriott's I've been in, in the last few years.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Krishna C,

It has been our pleasure to have you as part of our "family" for your extended visit to Winston Salem. Our staff takes great pride in making sure our guests have everything they need everyday.

On your next visit this summer, you will be able to enjoy our new Bistro Cafe, new fitness center, poolside fire pit and upgraded questrooms. We can't wait to have you return!

All of the Courtyard Marriott Staff~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel is a wonderful property plunked in the midst of a maze of highways, corporate offices, and box stores. I wouldn't stay here without a car due to a lack of transit and I wouldn't feel comfortable walking in the surrounding area at night. Having said that, with my car and GPS I was able to get anywhere I wanted in W-S very easily.
The rooms are clean and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is not included but the breakfast buffet is a fantastic value with great variety.
I booked through priceline.com and was very pleased with the value of the stay and the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: using priceline makes this property an excellent vacation option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
KevinfromCanada,

Thank you for selecting the Courtyard Marriott Hanes Mall for your visit to Winston Salem.Our hotel is nestled in a quiet neighborhood but very convenient to the mall, major highways and local businesses. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our comfortable beds and great "made to order" breakfast-our breakfast staff makes some of the best omelettes in town!

We look forward to your return next year when we can show you our new lobby, Bistro Cafe and guestrooms!

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Winston-Salem is lacking quality hotels and this one is no exception. The rooms are old, the decor is tired and the beds are less comfortable than the Fairfield Inn just a block away. Don't waste your money here when you can stay at the newer SpringHill Suites just down the road for the same money. If you need less than $100 a night, Fairfiled Inn is a better deal, although it's wearing down as well. Time to rennovate your hotels Winston!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nctraveler086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardWS_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear nctraveler086;
Your remarks are not easy to hear, but we greatly appreciate your candor. I will certainly pass your comments along! Thank you for choosing Marriott!
Management Team
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem, Hanes Mall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Property: Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Address: 1600 Westbrook Plaza Dr, Winston Salem, NC 27103-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#13 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Courtyard
Winston Salem Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing