We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really warm and very friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Plainsboro, New Jersey
1 review
“Really warm and very friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I've been staying here every week for about 4 months now and not once did the service fall anywhere below excellent. The Front Desk is very helpful and accommodating and prompt.
The breakfast room is always so cheerful and friendly and make you feel very welcome and make everything to order to your liking.
The fitness room is small but not crowded, though it could do with some more weights.
I haven't used the jacuzzi or the pool but have seen others there all the time.
All in all, one of the best Marriott's I've been in, in the last few years.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Krishna C,

It has been our pleasure to have you as part of our "family" for your extended visit to Winston Salem. Our staff takes great pride in making sure our guests have everything they need everyday.

On your next visit this summer, you will be able to enjoy our new Bistro Cafe, new fitness center, poolside fire pit and upgraded questrooms. We can't wait to have you return!

All of the Courtyard Marriott Staff~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    60
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
42
28
11
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel is a wonderful property plunked in the midst of a maze of highways, corporate offices, and box stores. I wouldn't stay here without a car due to a lack of transit and I wouldn't feel comfortable walking in the surrounding area at night. Having said that, with my car and GPS I was able to get anywhere I wanted in W-S very easily.
The rooms are clean and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is not included but the breakfast buffet is a fantastic value with great variety.
I booked through priceline.com and was very pleased with the value of the stay and the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: using priceline makes this property an excellent vacation option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
KevinfromCanada,

Thank you for selecting the Courtyard Marriott Hanes Mall for your visit to Winston Salem.Our hotel is nestled in a quiet neighborhood but very convenient to the mall, major highways and local businesses. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our comfortable beds and great "made to order" breakfast-our breakfast staff makes some of the best omelettes in town!

We look forward to your return next year when we can show you our new lobby, Bistro Cafe and guestrooms!

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Winston-Salem is lacking quality hotels and this one is no exception. The rooms are old, the decor is tired and the beds are less comfortable than the Fairfield Inn just a block away. Don't waste your money here when you can stay at the newer SpringHill Suites just down the road for the same money. If you need less than $100 a night, Fairfiled Inn is a better deal, although it's wearing down as well. Time to rennovate your hotels Winston!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nctraveler086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardWS_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear nctraveler086;
Your remarks are not easy to hear, but we greatly appreciate your candor. I will certainly pass your comments along! Thank you for choosing Marriott!
Management Team
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem, Hanes Mall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was your typical Courtyard Marriott. Fast and friendly check in. Room was very nice, clean and maintained. Plenty of TV channels, but was missing one I wanted. Bed came with TONS of pillows! Nice sized bathroom and vanity area. We got a jacuzzi suite, and the jacuzzi was very nice and had a really cool water downspout. We had breakfast with our room. Its a buffet style, but they will make items for you, and offered to take it to our table. A very rude family came in and had zero control of their kids, ate half their food and left. The shower head had a slight leak but only if you moved it to the extreme left or right, up or down, didnt effect my shower. Shower head had the multi adjust settings too, nice pressure and hot water. I advised the desk at checkout of the issue and they wrote a maintenance slip for it. We didnt try the pool or shared jacuzzi, but the same rude family from breakfast were using it every time we walked by, glad we had our own. Ice machine was on the 2nd floor, not first, and they have a 24/7 mini store up front. This hotel is 1/4 mile from a 24/7 Walgreen's, and 1/2 mile from the mall. I enjoyed my stay and would go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaysofThundr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardWS_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our property! We greatly appreciate you staying with us. We are a bit difficult to find initially, but that makes us a hidden gem! Our side-street location affords a quieter stay for our guests. We hope you will choose the Courtyard Hanes Mall during your next trip to Winston-Salem!

Angela B. Carleton
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

I found everyone friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast in the morning was fast, good quality and inexpensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJerseyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Although clean and has good service this Courtyard is in need of update. Very good sanitation score, friendly check in and comfortable bed. Small fitness center, no flat screens in rooms and noisy interstate if you are unfortunate to get a back room. As a Marriott Platnium I would expect upgrade to at least front of building away from highway noise. By the time one realizes it is an chore to request change. The hotel is close to shopping and restaurants. Use the Fairfield Inn as a landmark to find. Overall average Courtyard. I would stay again but will try to remember to request a room in the front.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel88hrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is one of the best places to stay in Winston Salem NC. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The breakfast is wonderful with many choices. The room was very clean which I was delighted that it was comfortable. I plan to stay at this Hotel when I travel in the future.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sweettravel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Property: Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Address: 1600 Westbrook Plaza Dr, Winston Salem, NC 27103-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#13 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Winston-Salem Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Courtyard
Winston Salem Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing