We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“above average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2006

We were in town for a football game and spent the night at this hotel. The people were nice and the room was clean. It is right next door to the Village Tavern which is a great restuarant. The morning continental breakfast is busy and a few things ran out.
All in all it was a pretty much average to above average facility.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rbw141rbw141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 624 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2006

We were a little disappointed in this La Quinta. Our room was clean and spacious, but the hotel is in need of some refurbishing -- it looks like it was probably a really nice place 10 or so years ago, but the paint is peeling, the big fountain in the entrance looks long gone, the elevator is the slowest I've ever been on, and all the outside doors that for safety are only supposed to be opened with a key, were all broken (they still closed, but you didn't need a key to get in.) Oh, and if you stay here, be sure to ask for a room away from the stairs. They were right across from us and everytime someone opened the door it slammed shut very loudly.

Another problem we encountered was that we had requested a crib for our daughter and were given a broken one (we fixed it so it would be safe for one night) without any sheets. When I realized that we needed sheets for it, I called down to the front desk and was told that I'd have to come down and get them. Do hotels not have housekeeping anymore?

The outdoor pool was nice -- the kids enjoyed it - it was clean with plenty of chairs and tables around it.

The breakfast was so-so. With the exception of a basket of apples on the front desk, there was no fruit offered. Just the typical cereals, pastries, juice and coffee items. The breakfast area was busy and there weren't enough tables for everyone to sit down.

We found that the best thing about this hotel is that it's within walking distance of the Village Tavern!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aggiegirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2006

This hotel was honestly pretty nice. The room was quite large, and the free high speed internet was a major plus. The pool was open in march, unlike another hotel we stayed at in the area, and the hot tub was nice in the cool night temperatures (it is open until 10:00 pm). The front desk was always friendly, and although they sometimes didn't know exactly how to do something for us, they were friendly about it and they called the manager who always knew what to do. There is plenty of awards at the hotel, indicating that this is one of the best la quinta's in the country. The only real problems were that the front desk sometimes didn't know what they were doing (like i said, no big deal), and that the beds were rather hard and not extremely comfortable (once again, not a huge deal. they werent extremely uncomfortable, just not all that comfortable). At night the hotel has cookies in the lobby, and they always have apples.this was a nice touch. If you are in the winston-salem area and don't want to spend too much money, i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank macwetherbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

I recently stayed at the La Quinta for a week while in town for work. I had read all the good reviews here, so I was expecting it to be a decent hotel. I think it was pretty much what I expected. Check in went smooth and the staff was nice. The rooms were unlike any other hotel that I've stayed in, but in a good way. They were actually larger than what I expected. There was a closet big enough to hang several pieces of clothing. The bathroom was nice size with a very large countertop and mirror. I liked the shower because it had the rounded curtain rod that gives you more room. I always had enough towels and washcloths. There was also a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker that was neatly hidden behind a cabinet, which I really liked. There was also a rather large desk with chairs on both sides that came in very handy. The bed was okay. The sign in the lobby stated that all the King rooms had been upgraded to pillow top mattresses, but for some reason, I think they may have skipped my room. The sheets were nice, and looked and smelled clean. The hotel also has a nice pool area and workout room, neither of which I used. They also have a nice breakfast in the mornings which includes fresh waffles that you make yourself. The only complaint that I have about the breakfast is the fact that there seems to be a lot of business travelers that stay here, and there never seemed to be enough seating. Especially on the last morning, a cheerleading convention was in town, so it was quite crowded.
Overall, the hotel was nice and I would consider staying there again if ever in the area again. The one thing that I did like the most was the location of the hotel. It is located on the same street as Hanes Mall, so there is a good variety of places to eat and things to do.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UGAFan0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2005

This hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a pet-friendly hotel which is a plus. The only suggestion I would make is that maybe the first floor rooms could be primarily held for pet owners. Putting non-pet travelers among pet-friendly people can only result in needless complaining and bad feelings.

This happened during our stay, althoug it had nothing to do with the staff. Our neighbor was a noisy, apparently chronic complainer, and should have been far away from pet-friendly people. His noise upset our dog, and apparently he continued to knock on the door or wall which, in turn, caused the dog to bark longer (about 3 to 5 minutes). He called the desk to complain.

I explained to the staff that in 8 years of traveling with our dog, we have never had one complaint. As a matter of fact, most people in the hotel don't even realise they are next to a room with a dog in it. I'm an certain, without a doubt, the man who complained was responsible for the dog barking in the first place cause he certainly made enough noise leaving his room this morning. However, the staff was very understanding and we both agreed that some people are just miserable and intend to make everyone around them the same way!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2005

Awesome !! They ( LaQuinta) have just upgraded some of the little "extras" here. The room was nice and roomy, and everything from the bathroom to the mattresses was first rate. They have nice thick plush towels, super fine sheets and pillows. I had the best nights sleep here. Check out the pool area with a hot tub and the gazebo was perfect for just sitting and taking it all in. Fine staff too. Very friendly and check in and out was a breeze. We will definitley stay here again. Great price too.

1  Thank ChasnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
18
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We weren't sure what to expect from this property when it was booked for us... three weeks in a hotel room with two kids is nobody's idea of ideal conditions, and less than good accomodations could have turned it into a nightmare. THIS HOTEL IS A DREAM COME TRUE!!

When my husband went for training, we went along. I could not possibly have asked for better accomodations at this price, or even for $100 more a night. When we were unexpectly told by my husband's sompany to vacate the premises and go home early, we were at a loss with date-specific, non-refundable water park tickets for the next day. The staff arranged a VERY reasonable rate for us to stay an extra night, and even kept our son's medication refrigerated after we checked out, until late in the evening.

The absolute BEST aspect of our visit was the WONDERFUL, friendly, always courteous, professional, helpful staff, all of whom stand ready to go the extra mile. Check-in was 'smooth as silk', and the staff was incredibly friendly and warm, especially with our children as the days passed. We got to know many of the staff and they were always willing to do whatever it took to make our stay more pleasant, even if only to stop and chat with the children. Housekeeping was efficient, well-trained and quick to respond to our requests and/or needs, with a head housekeeper who is pickier about the details than I am! We could not have asked for more in a hotel staff. I certainly appreciated the accomodating maintenance staff who good naturedly agreed to allow us to have some HUGE empty boxes (we saw them unloading the new pool furniture) and even delivered them to our room. Not a day went by when some member of the staff would not ask how our 'clubhouse' was coming along, and we had a steady stream of invited staff stop by to see the latest improvements :) The staff can make or break your visit, and this staff is top-notch.

We were so pleasantly surprised at how SPACIOUS and CLEAN the room was! SPOTLESS bathroom, nice linens, lots of clean towels. Excellent, new mattress and a recliner that was actually comfortable to sit in! We don't watch TV, but there were over 60 channels of satellite TV to choose from plus local channels. Microwave and refrigerator in the room combined with more than ample storage space made saving money by cooking our own lunches a breeze.

The FREE breakfast was more than just a continental spread. In addition to the standard toast, bagels, danish, cereal and milk, juices, etc there were also make-your own waffles, sausage biscuits, yogurts, boiled eggs, etc. Our children never complained of not having enough choices! Coffee and tea (over 8 varieties!) were always available, and in the evenings they had complimentary FRESH BAKED COOKIES! :) We never paid for a dessert at restaurants because our kids loved the cookies. If you aren't the cookie type, you might appreciate the huge basket of crisp, red delicious apples that were available at all times.

The guest laundry was absolutely clean, the common areas were kept nicely. The lobby is very pleasant with many breakfast tables or you can take your breakfast out to the patio (unbrella tables and comfy chairs) the gazebo (again, compy tables and chairs) or even poolside.

Speaking of pools, this one is a winner. Kept VERY clean and sanitary, sparkling water and an ample number of chaises and umbrella tables. The hot tub is wonderful, don't plan on a quick dip :)

The hotel was undergoing room upgrades while we were there (not that we were in any was inconvenienced). New mattresses, fabulous new showerheads, and huge new workspaces with FREE highspeed internet access.

LOTS of great restarants in all price ranges right nearby, including Chuck E. Cheese's and Golden Corral for the kids and the huge shopping malls nearby would keep any shopper (whether bargain hunter, discount diva or high end shopper) content.

THIS La Quinta Inn is a wonderful, safe, clean hotel that will be a lot more than you expect... the management clearly knows what quality service and value for your money is all about. They have set a new standard for this class of hotel in my book!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
8.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#25 of 38 in Winston Salem
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
537 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#21 of 38 in Winston Salem
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem

Address: 2020 Griffith Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27103-5509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#11 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#14 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $74 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Otel, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Winston - Salem Hotel Winston Salem
La Quinta Winston Salem
La Quinta Hotel Winston
Winston Salem La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing