We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A college past-time favorite”
Review of Gino's of Wingate

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gino's of Wingate
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Wingate
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A college past-time favorite”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I hadn't been back to Gino's since college and couldn't wait to have an Incredible Edible.

It, as always, didn't disappoint. Our waitress was friendly and everybody's food was awesome. Plus it didn't take long at all.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjruffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good pizza”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

There are lots of choices but I have only tried their pizza. Very good. Staff is eager to fix anything if there is an issue.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gino's is also known as Jim and Judy's, and home cooking is their real specialty.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Allow yourself a full hour for a Gutbuster, a calzone, the Incredible Edible or speed things up and get a daily special or a vegetable plate. Portions are huge, and everything is made from scratch. You will know you have found one of the locals favorite spots!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouse, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cook not willing to please customers”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The cook's customer service needs to be worked on. I ordered meatloaf asking that it be well done. After receiving the meatloaf, it was red and I ask to maybe have it put on grill or microwave to be well done. The waitress came back and said that it was to temp. needed and that was all she would do. I did not want to reorder as everyone else had there meals, so I was without meat for the meal and had to pay. I was not to happy with the night to say the least.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank highwood101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great Down-Home Food”
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Gino's is listed as a Pizza place, but that is incorrect. They have pizza, but they also have down-home country cooking. It is one of those little local restaurants that has very good food at very reasonable prices.

Had a lunch of beef tips on rice with fried okra and greens. All were excellent. I understand from the locals that they are known for their "italian" stuff, like calzones and pizza as well, thus potentially the reason for the "Pizza" category.

So I recommend this as a good lunch stop and/or for a simple dinner.

Helpful?
Thank cvg_day_cmh_triad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gino's of Wingate also viewed

 

Been to Gino's of Wingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing