We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven and Hearth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Grays Landing
Ranked #1 of 1 Windsor B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A 300-year-old bed and breakfast in a 300-year-old town. The bed was dreamy and brunch was simply the best French toast ever--and I'm a connoisseur. Proprietors Lynnette and Jock don't disappoint. They also didn't lie about the best of modern amenities in a richly historic district. Try it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stopped at this B&B on our way to Outer Banks. It was a welcome place to relax after traveling for several hours. The beds slept nicely and it was very quiet. Beautiful home with excellent furnishings and the breakfast was spectacular. Would recommend but realize this is small town. Good seafood down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevem1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Inn inhabits an 18th Century house once owned by George Washington Capehart, who lived there while building his proprietor's mansion on the family's huge Avoca Plantation, not far from Windsor. The owners' treatment of furnishings, appointments and hospitality are impeccable and welcoming. The past speaks to guests at the Inn, but in gentle murmurs and whispers. Breakfast is, simply, magnificent.

I'd like to spend a month there sometime! Try to book the George W. Capehart suite for the ultimate Inn at Gray's Landing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the George W. Capehart suite, but know that all 5 rooms are splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulKotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Imagine booking a room in a B&B in a small town you have never been to before and when you arrive, you are overwhelmed by the charm and beauty of The Inn at Gray's Landing. We were fortunate enough to spend an evening there while we were in NC for a family reunion. Every room, hallway and corner are filled with wonderful antiques and whimiscal items that make getting to your room more like a museum tour than a typical B&B. Lynette and her staff made us feel as though this 'museum' was as much a part of us as it is to her. She made a family breakfast for us and my in-laws (something she had not bargined for when we reserved) but she took it in stride and prepared the most fabulous meal one could imagine. Lynette shared many wonderful stories with us about her life, her travels and the Inn, and we will certainly return for a longer visit. Thank yo for making our journey and family reunion more special than one could imagine. If you are anywhere near Windsor, NC and do not visit the Inn, shame on you! Robert and Carolyn S. Ledyard, CT

Room Tip: Book the Capehart Suite or Library Suite...hard to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackstraw1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

An unexpected surprise that just got better and better during our stay. Lynette was extremely gracious and warm from the first phone call to make our reservation to hugs goodbye when leaving. The entire house was decorated with antiques that were usable. Our room was not only lovely but the bed was very comfortable. The experience of travel was everywhere with extra touches that make the weary traveler feel welcomed and understood. Breakfast was beautifully presented, the portions were generous and every course more delicious than the one before it. We will definitely be back for our next Family Reunion in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We found this charming, beautiful Bed and Breakfast 3 years ago for our honeymoon and have been back every year and sometimes twice a year since! Lynette is simply marvelous and the food cannot be beat. The rooms are full of antiques and the house is near a restored plantation, which is nice to visit. In the spring and summer months there is a free boat ride on the river about 2 blocks away. It is nice to just sit and relax on the screened in back porch or in the rocking chairs on the front porch.

Room Tip: The Capehart Suite is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gorillas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Accommodations are charming, very clean, extremely comfortable. Furnishings are an antique and traditional furniture lover's dream, truly a step back in time. Lynette and Jock are super hosts, making sure you're at ease and feeling more than welcome, but they don't intrude. Menus are well planned, delicious, beautifully served; even the gluten free traveler will enjoy. Windsor is a friendly town, located centrally to branching out for days of historical sightseeing. If that's not your wish, just sit and rock and absorb the surroundings. You'll be relaxed and refreshed. Pat B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Grays Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grays Landing

Address: 401 S King St, Windsor, NC 27983-6721
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range: $59 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn with rooms and special event restaurant and bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing