We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Wilson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is located off I-95 so very easy off and on access. There are several fast food options at the same exit (along with other hotels) and appears to be in a safe area. Approximately 3 miles down the road is plenty of shopping and other dining options. The hotel was very clean and they have a daily continental breakfast. Wifi in the room worked great. The staff here were excellent! They greeted everyone with a smile and were always willing to go above and beyond to help.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor as I heard the people above me walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAGirl8567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

It seems that although you were only here for a short time you definitely had a chance to experience everything in the hotel, which is great. Next time bring the bathing suit and enjoy our heated indoor pool & whirlpool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 291 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is everything this type of hotel should be: modern, clean, comfortable, and most of all a fabulous staff. Everyone who worked here was friendly and welcoming, on top of being capable. Bright, inviting lobby, side seating and eating area; comfortable, clean rooms. Exercise room is small but it works. Hot breakfast had lots of options and was quite good. But the thing that sets this Fairfield Inn apart is the staff - from the welcoming front desk who had our keys ready for us prior to arrival and could not do enough to make sure we were all set, the incredibly friendly people who run the breakfast area ('What can I get for you, hon?'), to the housekeeping staff who did a great job in the rooms. Everyone did their job well, and everyone greeted us with a smile. Excellent choice if you are in Wilson for business, family, leisure, or just passing through on 95.

Room Tip: In addition to activities around the pool or exercise room, there can be a lot of social activity ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13BarbP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

Barbara, thank you for the kind words. We understand that in order to be successful a great product is a given. Where we try to put space between us and the other hotels in the area is the level of personalized customer service you can expect. Please come back and stay with us the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed one night there on our way to NJ and it was a good stop. Staff friendly and Knowledgeable about area restaurants. Breakfast was good. The accommedations were excellent as this is a new hotel . Also stop at a travel center as this hotel has a coupon for reduced rates in the booklet.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

This is more like what I am use to seeing. Thank you so much for staying with us and I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff does care deeply and wants everyone who stays with us to remember the great time that they had. Can't wait to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for several nights while traveling on business. Overall, I thought the hotel was nice and, for the most part, the staff very friendly and helpful.

The Good
Nice suites! Love the suites they have. The are much more like traditional 2-room suites than the open suite concept. This type of suite makes you feel like you actually may be in a living room rather than in the sofa section of your hotel room.

Friendly staff - Folks were generally very nice and helpful.

Location - If you're traveling I-95 and looking for a hotel, the location is very convenient. However, if you're looking for a place near Wilson businesses, this isn't the best location.



Potential Improvements
TV - The channel listing provided by the hotel is wrong. I was told by a co-worker that there is a channel guide station, but I was not smart enough to figure out how to enter a channel number with a dash in the middle of it....?

Location - Doubt they are going to move the hotel, but if you are doing business in Wilson this isn't the most convenient location. The hotel is located outside of town 10 minutes.

No manager's reception - Many hotels offer a free "reception" at night during the week and offer food and drink for their guests. This hotel does not offer this.

One elevator - There is only one elevator at the property. I can be patient, but one morning the elevator was not working. However, the elevator was fixed that afternoon.

Breakfast - There was very little variation in what was offered. The granny smith apples were also VERY tart.


All in all, this is a decent hotel and I'd consider it in the future, but would also reexamine available properties that are closer to where I typically work while in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyfromILMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and clean suites. Sorry to hear that we had an incorrect channel line-up at the time of your stay as we had just switched cable companies and upgraded to HD channels. I assure this has been resolved and we also have new anti-bacterial easy wipe remotes in all guestrooms which have a "dash" button to make entering channels with a dash much less complicated. We hope to see you soon and remember while we're a little further away from town no other hotel in Wilson can say they provide Marriott service with a smile ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Travelling back to Florida we again decided to stay here. This hotel has recently finished upgrading their interior and it is very nice. Our suite room was delightful, the furnishings and décor were welcoming and very relaxing. As always, the bedding was upgraded and very comfortable. The adjacent choice of restaurants are convenient and offer variety and delicious meals to be enjoyed. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 884KathyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words. Our staff is very proud of the hotel and having the opportunity to serve repeat guests like yourself. We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is very nice. It's in good shape, and the rooms are clean. The staff tries, but they fail to give you a good stay. Everyone needs training in customer service. It's a nice quiet location. Maybe with a little work, they will get it right.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

I am so sorry that your stay with us was not an exceptional one. I take this very personally and will hold a meeting with the entire staff (including back of house) and make sure that every team member is re-trained in the proper way of interacting with guests and at the very least acknowledge each guest with a smile. I hope you give us another try and promise your next visit with us will be worthy of a 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here on a business trip. The decor was very modern and updated. Pool was nice but the water in the hot tub was green. The pool hours were listed as opening at 7am, but key wouldn't open the door. The lady working at the front desk couldn't figure out the problem and told me to wait an hour for the manager. We also had another issue that we were told that they would need to talk to a manager to resolve. We paid cash for the room, but used a credit card for the deposit. Upon checkout our receipt showed that the room was charged to the credit card. There was another couple having similar problems. Nice hotel, but not worth the hassle.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank blsattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

We are going to make mistakes, we know that. What matters more is how we respond to those mistakes and the way we responded to this mistake is an unacceptable. I hate to hear that an otherwise good stay was downgraded not because there was a mistake but because we didn't respond appropriately. For that I am sorry and I thank you for letting me know so that we can make updates to the lock that enters the pool area. Regarding the whirlpool color I assure you it is absolutely safe as we have had the whirlpool painted and that is what gives off the greenish hue. I will also spend some extra time with the staff teaching them the proper way to handle these types of situations so that in the future guests don't have to wait for a situation to be resolved by a manager. Again, sorry that your stay was not exceptional but I urge you to give us one more try so that we can make your next visit a 5 star one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilson hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilson I-95
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Wilson I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 18 in Wilson
203 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilson Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson

Address: 4915 Hayes Pl, Wilson, NC 27893-9719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wilson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilson
#4 Business Hotel in Wilson
Price Range: $109 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our NEWLY RENOVATED hotel and guestrooms are full of the thoughtful amenities you expect from Marriott. Unwind in our heated indoor pool/whirlpool & sleep in our crisp linens & high quality bedding - the road warrior's dream bed, watch your favorite channels on a 42" HDTV in high definition, then awake to our complimentary hot breakfast featuring: eggs, sausages, waffles, grits, cereals, fresh fruits & fruit salads, hot coffee/teas and cold juices. Wilson, NC is located between New York and Miami, off I-95 and is just 30 minutes east of Raleigh. Companies such as BB&T, Bridgestone/Firestone, Merck & Co., Purdue Pharmaceuticals, Sandoz, Walter-Kidde Aerospace, Wilson Medical Center and Barton College are minutes away. Entertainment includes Carolina Premium Outlets, Carmike Cinemas, Lake Wilson, Southern Motor Speedway, Babe Ruth World Series and much more. For dining Cracker Barrel, Buffalo Wild Wings, Olive Garden, Texas Steakhouse, Chili's and Ruby Tuesday are all nearby. Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott - for travelers who know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilson
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson Hotel Wilson
Fairfield Inn Wilson
Fairfield Wilson
Wilson Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing