We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastern North Carolina Cuisine”
Review of Parker's Barbecue

Parker's Barbecue
Ranked #1 of 150 Restaurants in Wilson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eastern North Carolina Cuisine”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The finest sit down, Down East, family friendly, low stress dining around. Parker's barbecue and 'fixins' are a true taste of Eastern North Caroliina vinegar based bar-b-que. Service is quick and friendly. The management is always out and about with friendly chatter with the diners, especially Eric, a true diner friendly manager. Parker's seafood, especially oysters, is always delicious with the true balance of batter and taste. If you are off the beaten path (I-95), stop by Parker's in Wilson, NC for a fun, friendly, low price, tasty dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucky005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    125
    41
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok BBQ”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have lived in Wilson for 5 years and I still don't understand why everyone thinks Parkers is so good. BBQ is ok, the slaw is mustard base and nasty if you ask me. The BBQ Chicken is the best thing they have going for them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CruiseForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Parker's has been a must stop every year returning north from Florida, this year they really let us down. We arrived an hour earlier then they told us on the phone they would be closing just to be told we were too late. Very disappointing to see others still enjoying their meals and not being allowed to join them. Oh well, so much for southern hospitality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vapatriots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Oysters from a BBQ Restaurant..fast friendly service”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We decided to do a take out from Parkers. While known for BBQ and Chicken, during Oyster season they have fried Oysters. I went to the front entrance (although the take out entrance is a side door.) I was greeted going in by one of the owners (Eric) and told him I wanted a take out. I promptly gave the order to one of the cashiers, and waited at the cash register. The restaurant was almost full at 5:15 in the afternoon, but everyone was being seated promptly and the food was being quickly served by about 20 waiters. It is an amazing scene. I have never witnessed such fast, efficient, and courteous service. When a handicapped person approached the front door (coming or going) no less than 3 waiters would hold the door for them. My take out was quickly brought from the kitchen, steaming hot, and was great when we ate at home. Highly recommend for great food and service!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst we've had”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Parker's was recommended by a Welcome Center when we entered N C. We waited to get there. It was terrible -a surly waiter and barbecue and sides were all but uneatable and we left food on our plates .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank malyoung3226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parker's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Parker's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing