We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but was ruined by housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Wilson
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. I would recommend it highly. Nicely located close to the interstate and restaurants. Front check in staff was very friendly and accomadating she even had fresh cookies waiting for us. But it was ruined this morning. We drove 10 hrs yesterday and needed a rest before driving today. We were so tired we forgot to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign out. But that shouldn't be a reason to ruin our morning. If a guest is leaving today and hasn't checked out PLEASE don't send housekeeping to knock at our door at 08:30!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 562 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Rooms were large and clean. Nicely furnished and comfortable. Big bathroom with tub. Downstairs smelled a bit but our room on the 3rd floor was clean and smelled nice. Accepted our cat for a $20 fee. No problems. A little expensive for the quality but was still a good experience for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed overnight from Florida to Pennsylvania with our pet. No problems, clean, friendly and everything went well. Early morning free breakfast was nice too. Would stay again without hesitation.
Was close to interstate 95 so we could continue on our way easily.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familymanwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right off if I95 & comes with a nice hot breakfast (waffles, bacon, potatoes, cereal, juices, muffins & more) The room was nice & clean. The only disappointment was when my kids & I went to swimming & it was closed when it was supposed to be open.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anknxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had to switch hotels because our other pet friendly place was a bad experience. They allowed us to check in early at a great rate. I wish I had booked this hotel in the first place. Very nice pet friendly place to stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_winc, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The rooms were very nice and cleaned, the free continental breakfast was great, the employees were very helpful and the indoor pool and spa were very convenient. Its conveniently near restaurants and stores. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arimel92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The property is modern and cleanliness is not a problem!!!
The staff works hard and definitely tries to please.

What appears to be lacking is a general lack of managerial oversight.
How else can you explain that the clock in the business center is still operating on standard time and that the computer did not have internet access due to a problem which the front desk clerk had a friend of hers not employed by the hotel fix.

But what really concerned my wife and I was the condition of the bed and its bedding.
One bed had a deep depression on the right side and what was worse that out of the eight pillows in the room seven contained feathers which we are allergic to. The front desk clerk an affable young lady got us two polyester pillows. We were also concerned with what the bed coverings were made of - perhaps down?

In any event it is now 36 hours since we left the hotel and my wife and I are sneezing and feel awful as a result of the prevelence of so much feathered material in our room.

We will be asking the corporate office in Minnesota about their policies regarding the utilization and "ratio of use" of feathered compared with polyester pillows

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_winc, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to our pillows & duvet. We know a good night’s rest is very important. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Regarding our pillows...
An integral part of Carlson Hotel’s ® trusted reputation is ensuring that every guest is accommodated lavishly at each of their properties during every stay. In order to exceed the high expectations of Carlson Hotel ® guests, the hotel brand makes a point to use only the finest amenities in all of their individual properties. That’s why Carlson Hotels ® tops many of their fine beds with premium Pacific Coast ® Double Down Surround pillows. The hospitality experts at Carlson Hotels ® trust the Pacific Coast ® Double Down Surround pillows to provide the foundation for a restful, relaxing night of sleep.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilson hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Wilson I-95
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 18 in Wilson
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Wilson
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilson I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson

Address: 4910 Hayes Pl, Wilson, NC 27893-9718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wilson
#5 Family Hotel in Wilson
#8 Business Hotel in Wilson
Price Range: $80 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's more relaxing. More comfortable. And with free breakfast and high speed internet, it's more affordable, too. But most of all, it's feeling like you're a guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson Hotel Wilson
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing