We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect ....”
Review of Taylor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taylor House Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2009

My husband and I chose to stay at the Taylor House Inn B&B for two reasons; it's was within walking distance to downtown Wilmington and from the photos on their website the Inn looked so very charming. The Inn was everything we hoped for and more. It was cozy, elegantly furnished, extremely clean and most importantly comfortable! The innkeepers I have to say were the best....they were very friendly, attentive to our needs and respectful of our privacy. The next time we visit Wilmington we will be staying at the Taylor House Inn B&B again!

Elizabeth Jaffe

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 327 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2009

Having done my research before chosing an inn, I had hopes for a better experience. As far as the house and rooms go, I was very pleased. The home is truly lovely. We stayed in the Peace room. Although not one of the larger rooms, it was a decent size, charming, and very clean. The bathroom is on the smaller side and the shower a bit cramped, but on the positive side, it was immaculate. The bed was quite comfortable, although creaky. Breakfasts were very good with fresh fruit, juice, muffins, and a main course. It is served promptly at 9:00 a.m. and you are seated at one table with other guests. We really enjoyed our visit with the other couple at the table, but if you prefer more flexibility with time and more privacy, this might not be for you. I noticed that very few reviews mention there are no tv or internet type amenities. That was not a problem for me in the least, but most people tend to expect these items, so it is worth noting. The location of the inn is good. It is within walking distance to downtown/riverwalk.

I have to say, I am still perplexed by our interaction with the innkeeper, Scott. Toward the end of our stay, we had an unpleasant experience much like the other negative reviews. Given that most of these reviews are overwhelmingly positive, I was stunned when Scott began to treat us with derisive contempt for no apparent reason. You would never expect such scornful treatment from someone in the hospitality business! This bewilderingly rude behavior is the sole reason for my low rating because it really diminished my enjoyment of our trip as a whole and would keep me from ever planning to return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wylielakegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Taylor House Inn to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We stayed in the "Love" room, appropriately enough, which was big and extremely comfortable. The innkeeper Scott was attentive but not overbearing, and the breakfasts were excellent. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the middle of town on the river, and the historical district of Wilmington is best seen on foot. Wilmington is a charming place and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCGlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Taylor House Inn for 4 days this October. This was the first time i stayed in a B&B(i'm in my 60's).The experience was better than i had expected. I was concerned about not having the 20th Century amenities. I didn't seem to matter, although Scott did get me a TV. Scott and Karen were great hosts. The inn was very close to downtown so we could walk there, the room was very comfortable and larger then the usually hotel room and the breakfasts were delicious. It was also interesting to meet the other guests for breakfast . Scott was very helpful with questions we had about Wilmington and the surrounding area. If we return to the area we would definately stay here again as well as recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank diandira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Splendid example of an old Wilmington house; very pleasant and helpful host; comfortable, spacious, quiet room; good shower and pristine bathroom; excellent location - historic street; superb breakfast; tonnes of local information, including directions and books. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We stayed at the Taylor House Inn last weekend and had a great time. House is beautiful and overall experience was excellent. Scott gave us good advice about things to do and where to eat. Short walk into the center of Wilmington made it very easy to get about on foot.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rugby06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We just experienced a wonderful, relaxing weekend at the Taylor House. Everything was just perfect--from the location to the comfortable beds to the elegant breakfasts. We were very impressed with the decor of this beautiful older home right in the city of Wilmington. You are within walking distance of many of the sites in the city. Scott was so helpful with restaurants and directions.
I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone that is looking for friendly hosts, wonderful food and and quiet relaxing home away from home.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank luckylake97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
1,463 reviews
6.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.5 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#4 of 18 in Wilmington
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Address: 14 N 7th St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4645
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic home is on a quiet one-way brick paved residential street, just six blocks up from the Cape Fear River in Historic downtown Wilmington. Upon arriving, there is a lovely front porch with rocking chairs and swings to pass the day in and catch the cool breezes coming off from the river. Entering this lovely home, you will be in a twelve foot high foyer with original woodwork and stained glass windows on the staircase. There are two homey and comfortable parlors to sit in, to read or play board games or just to sit listen to the classical music that is continuously playing. The formal dining room is where the candlelight full hot seated gourmet breakfasts are served every morning. Fine antiques and art are abound in the is lovely home. Upstairs there are five bedrooms, all with their own private bathrooms. The names of the rooms are; Love, Joy, Peace, Tranquility and Serenity. Love and Joy are rooms with King-size beds and private baths with both showers and claw foot soaking tubs. Tranquility is a lovely room with a Queen-size bed and a private bathroom with both a shower and a claw foot soaking tub. Peace and Serenity, have Queen-size beds and modern bathrooms with stall showers. This is a lovely place to stay for your lodging needs. Among the extra amenities; there is an early morning coffee service delivered just outside your door, central heat and air, ceiling fans over each bed, freshly ironed sheets, chocolates and fresh flowers in your room. Truly, a lovely place to get away from your everyday concerns and worries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing