We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in Carolina Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Chili, New York
1 review
“Fun in Carolina Sun”
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Absolutely great trip was easy to manage in this hotel near the center of town and the main highway... Loved the pool and staff were just wonderful... Waffle House!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonrenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI653, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, July 31, 2009
Thank you for your contribution! We are excited to hear such positive remarks about our staff and property. I will certainly share your comments with the Front Desk staff and let the Maintenance personel know they are doing a good job keeping the pool clean and clear. Thank you again. I look forward to seeing you the next time you come to the Wrightsville Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    46
    26
    33
    85
See reviews for
68
57
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The Good: Hotel is in a good location, sheets seemed clean, bed was comfortable, plenty of parking. That's about it.

The bad: I was EXTREMELY dissatisfied with my stay in room 141 on Saturday, July 18. Room was filthy - cobwebs on ceiling (not just one, but all along the walls and celing). Remote did not even match the TV and did not work. Bathroom and sink caulk was peeling away in 12 inch strips, moldy, slimy. No drain stoppers in sink - just a dirty black hole. Water pressure non-existent. Hot water unavailable due to broken/faulty faucet in tub - turning it all the way in either direction just shut off the water - lukewarm was all I could get it to provide by juggling the handle somewhere in the middle. A/C unit produced musty smell, carpeting within 4 feet of unit was damp and slimy. Light in bathroom had no cover or globe - insides filthy and dirty with exposed wires. Random chairs and room furniture in hallways, outside walkways, etc. and trash laying around. I will not stay at this hotel again - paid $69 for a $29 truck stop motel. Sad.

Disclaimer: Despite the title of this review, I did NOT actually see any roaches - perhaps they had wisely checked out.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hueydok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI653, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback on your recent stay. Future renovations to the Hotel will include new lighting fixtures and temperature control units. The Hotel typically receives good reviews on cleanliness and unfortunately, due to an error, you were placed in a room that was not ready for guests. We regret that your experience was not positive and rest assured we have taken steps to address your concerns. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotherington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Stopped over for three nights whilst attending a local wedding. The General Manager, James B. Wylie was a credit to the Red Roof Inn group.
The stay was pleasent but a face lift in the future would help.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hickups_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI653, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
Thank you so much for your great feedback. I'm glad to hear you had a great experience during your wedding event in Wilmington. We are proud of our front desk team, and as you experienced we stand ready to handle any requests. We are glad to hear you your wife enjoyed a nice clean room in the Wilmington area at a great value. We are going to address your concerns soon as we have planned a full renovation this off-season. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

The staff made staying there very enjoyable. The room was cleaned everyday of our stay and all our personal items were left just where left them.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinkConcord_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We had an excellent experience staying at the Red Roof Inn, Wilmington, N.C. The rooms were clean even with allowing pets. Our german shepherd was very comfortable with us in the spacious room. The best was the great customer service we experienced from the friendly staff. The check-in/check-out was speedy and more than helpful with any questions. They were more than accommodating to answer our questions about the area. We would stay there again. The Robertson's

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinroofstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI653, Assistant Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are proud of our front desk team, and as you experienced they stand ready to handle any requests. We are glad to hear you and your pet enjoyed a nice clean room in the Wilmington area at a great value. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Wrightsville Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We travel with our dog, a golden retriever, who is part of our family. The Red Roof Inn was very pet friendly. When we arrived, James welcomed me by name as I came through the door of the lobby. He helped with brochures and a city map. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetireeOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2009

The hotel is located in the heartbeat of Wilmington, North Carolina at an affordable rate. James B. Wylie who is the General Manager was exceptional with his service with a smile. Although my stay in Wilmington was not for leisure, he made the stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourCNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI653, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
Thank you for your terrific comments regarding our service here at Red Roof Inn of Wilmington. I appreciate any and all feedback and will share all information with my team. Thanks again!

-James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#36 of 44 in Wilmington
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#33 of 44 in Wilmington
155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#28 of 44 in Wilmington
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#31 of 44 in Wilmington
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Wilmington

Property: Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Address: 5107 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3431
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing