We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We were quite pleased with our stay at the Red Roof, Wilmington. We wanted an inexpensive lodging that was near the beach and near Wilmington. The room was sufficient for our needs and was clean. I have heard that this motel suffered from poor management in the not-too-distant past, but it seems to be recovering well. The guys up at the front desk were very helpful and responded to any need we had. Thanks, Dirk, Matt and Anthony for making our stay a good one.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cybercharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2008

Very dirty, lock on door broken off, looks like someone kicked the door in. sinks plugged, no towels or toilet paper when asked for more was questioned about how much was left in room and if they could check, a shooting occured outside our door early am. scary place to stay!

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank grannymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI653, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2008

No such shooting has ever occurred at this property. This can be proven through local law enforcement agencies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

Upon arriving, questionable characters loitered the premises, so I was not confident of the safety. Once checked in and snug in bed (as much as we could be), we were awoken to the bass of multiple cars in the parking lot at 3 am. In the morning, we attempted to take showers and discovered, although we had hot water, the water pressure was not much more than an outdoor spicket. They apparently have had trouble with patrons stealing items from the room, so they have a price list on the bedside table. Also, we only had 2 towels in the room for the overnight stay and the pillows lacked cases. And finally, my husband believed "something" was crawling on him in his sleep. Stay away!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank magsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

I went on a trip with my mother and two children for a mini vacation and we felt safe there, however we arrived to a dirty room. We were definitely not impressed with their idea of cleaning. Our carpet had not been vacuumed and that was real apparent when I discovered a toenail on the floor. Plus someone's feet marks were on the wall. Good thing my mom is a germ natzi and had brought along her Clorox anywhere spray and sanitized our bathroom and sink areas.

The next day we had left our room and came back around 2ish to notice housekeeping had skipped over our room. So I politely asked to borrow their vacuum since we had just arrived back from the beach and had some sand in our floor. At this point housekeeping realized we were in need of some things, told me to help myself to the vacuum and came to the room to see what other needs we had. We were in need of fresh towels and for our garbage to be removed (our room only had one ice bucket sized trash can).

All was okay meaning staff appeared to be courteous and friendly, but then on our final day I was going to take a shower and removed a fanned washcloth from the inside of a towel. While in the shower I had opened the washcloth to lather it up to discover someone's nose secretions on it and was very grossed out by that! Thank goodness I looked at the cloth before using it!! Two biggest suggestions I do recommend are: to beware of the towels and cloths they use when bathing (make sure no one has used it as a Kleenex) and 2) also do not run around with bare feet or white socks on or they will become dirt black as my children's feet did from walking around with bare feet!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SCFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Honestly, this was the worst experience i ever had to deal with when it came to a hotel stay. Personally I am use to staying at other hotels but i decided to give this hotel a chance. My first experience at the Red Roof Inn was not that bad at all. My wife along with myself was in town for a family gathering and was extremely dissatisfied with the service and the quality that Red Roof Inn put out.

Our room walls were dirty along with the bathroom curtain and floor. A friend of ours had a room next door and their room didnt even have a shower curtain. That was not even the worst thing. Their toilet handle was broke. I would not reccommend this hotel to my enemy. I can gurantee that Red Roof Inn has seen my last dollar. The only good thing about that hotel are the cable channels.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ddreherjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

Because of a death in the family, we arrived in a rush and got a great room. I was leary because of the recent change from Hampton to Red Roof but the weekend turned out smooth. The bed was so comfy after the 6 hour drive and the room was very clean. Renovations were still going on so while my parents got a room with a fridge and microwave, our room--next door, didn't. When we requested extra towels, the housekeepers were quick to respond. Overall I would stay here again. Great location to everything. Target, Walmart, and many different restaurants. Yes, the rooms open to the outside but with the location I felt safe enough.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank jknecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed here from Midnight on April 7, 2007 until 9:30 am. The room was clean and typical for this type of hotel. We get the bill, it posts about a week after the stay. Then we get billed again for more money a week later. The managers have been contacted 6 times and will not resolve the double billing. My advice is to pay Cash!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turbobaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#36 of 45 in Wilmington
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#26 of 45 in Wilmington
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 45 in Wilmington
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#31 of 45 in Wilmington
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Wilmington

Address: 5107 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $64 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing