We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, near many attractions, pet friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, near many attractions, pet friendly”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Pet friendly, pets are free which I think is really cool, they are starting to modernize their rooms! Nice pool area, decent free breakfast, great AC and somewhat clean. Double bed rooms are not updated as of yet, the king bed supreme rooms are, plenty of ice machines for those that are not fortunate to get a mini fridge, if this is important request it! Good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    46
    26
    34
    85
See reviews for
69
57
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Room had two double beds and reservations were for four people. Only had two towels. Lots of loud kids at the pool unattended. The grounds were horrible. Parking was bad and scary. The room smelled molded and the fridge was rusted. The shower had lots of mildew. The toilet looked as if it hadn’t been cleaned in months and the floor looked dirty. Bedspread had burn holes in them. Pay a little extra somewhere else and feel safe and clean.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmington hotels

northern california
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing hotel. The room was badly in need of paint and the shower was very moldy. However, the staff was very efficient. When we got to our room and discovered there was no TV remote, someone was there within minutes and even stayed to program it for us. The breakfast was disappointing, just some pastry and cereal for the most part,, we went to the Dunkin Donuts next door.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank barrythewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 1 night Aug 17 - we got one of the last rooms so should've felt lucky...not so much. It was a hdcp accessible room which was fine but it only had a double bed in it. I didn't realize hotels still have those. I've heard many advertisements about new rooms for RRI but this isn't one of the lucky ones. There were many things missing from the room - blow dryer rack but no blow dryer - lamp but no light bulb - tv but the remote didn't work - taped batteries to the remote. Breakfast was lacking in many things - juice & fruit & cream cheese. Checked out the pool but luckily it was closed - couldn't see the bottom. I dont think this property is typical of RRI so hopefully they'll get some funds tp renovate very soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank francesmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place was all that it said it would be. For a discounted AAA rate of 79$ a night during busy season, you can not pass up this deal. I have previously stayed in a few "motels" up and down Market street in wilmington and have not been impressed . The red roof inn was to my suprise , very different. We reserved a double smoking room that was clean and spotless when we arrived. I had previous problems in each motel with bugs, and here there was none. The staff was friendly and the Continental Breakfast was up to par. Jack and Tracy ,the house keeper managers, took care of us and made sure everything was proper. My only complaint was that we had to ask for more towels ( they only provide 3 towels in a 2 bed room) but they fufilled my request when I asked. All in all this place is great. Its by no means a 4 star hotel , but for a cheap stay, in a clean reputable motel, This is your spot

Room Tip: rooms near the pool are great, except when people want to swim at 11pm when they are not supposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked this hotel, because I thought it would be a good value and it looked like there were several good reviews; albeit, there were some bad reviews too. I thought I would take my chances, considering we were traveling with a dog and not very many hotels accept dogs in Wilmington. Check-in was ok, not anything particularly spectacular, as far as guest services are concerned. I was informed that there was a pathetic breakfast offered in the morning and that was about it—oh yeah, and that the pool was clean… Her exact words were the pool is clean too now-- they are out there cleaning it as we speak. This should have been my first red flag; shouldn’t the pool ALWAYS be clean? Anyway, we proceeded to go up to the second floor and check out the room. We were given room 217 and we should have just run after seeing just the door from the outside. It looked like someone tried to vice grip the thing open and then they just kind of sloppily patched and painted over the hole. Once inside, the carpet was very dirty and wet… I guess the air conditioner (which was also broken) was dripping water onto the carpet, so God only knows how much mold there is under there. The walls were completely filthy and splattered with food, etc. The furniture was from the 80’s and dingy and dirty and had drips of stuff running down it. The bathroom was atrociously dirty. I am pretty sure they did not even clean it. There were hairs from someone shaving left at the sink and the tub had a leak that did not stop and a brown ring. Also, the bottom of the tub was black and the shower curtain had mineral stains on it from age. And the beds… good lord. The comforters were so dirty and they even had tears in them. Good thing there is a Target next door, because we went and bought a set of new sheets. Now, this is just the room… the first night there was loud music being played in the parking lot all night with bass. At about 5 a.m. my husband decided to walk the dog, because we could not sleep. Well, he came across a drug deal in progress… the guy staying in the room right next to us was giving an envelope to a car in the lot and receiving cash in exchange.
In summary, I would have preferred to sleep in my car than ever stay here again. It looks like they may be trying to turn this place around, but it is totally trashy and the guests there are just the same. If you are really desperate, I still would not choose this place. Also, it was $99 a night; not a good value at all considering what we had to put up with.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, request that you get one of the new rooms and DON'T for stay in 217, unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for three days and 2 night. We were greeted with a smile and checkout was quick! We were very tired from our long trip from up North and were looking forward to rest & relaxation. The room was very clean and neat...the bed and shower were spotless! My fiance and I were very tired and just wanted to get our belongings into our room (which was on the second floor). We were approached by a young gentleman named "Jack", who had a great demeanor and very quck to help us out in getting our luggage and what not up to our room. We were treated royally! My fiance happens to have a bad back and he had noticed him struggling along with our baggage and stopped what he was doing (apparently cleaning) and asked if we needed assistance, quite frankly, if it wasint for him, He would have had one sore back by the time we reached the stairway. What a great gentleman he was very professional, very upbeat attitude and we could tell he loved his job! HE PUT A BIG SMILE OUR FACE! All that to say, if we are treated like royalty, we will be sure to come by again! The surrounding area had nice restaraunts and shopping within walking distance...BIG PLUS!
The downside, it was a bit noisy outside our room in the wee hour of the morning, breakfast was so-so..not much variety.
Again, we want to say thank you to Jack (your employee) for such a welcoming attitude and making sure we were happy with our stay...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#36 of 44 in Wilmington
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#33 of 44 in Wilmington
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 44 in Wilmington
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#31 of 44 in Wilmington
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Wilmington

Property: Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Address: 5107 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3431
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing