We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OKAY stay for a night or two.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An OKAY stay for a night or two.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I booked a non-smoking, superior king room for one night before arriving. It took about 10 minutes to get checked in because only one computer was working, there were two people ahead of me, and one of the desk attendants wanted to carry on a conversation. The lobby and outside area were clean though from what I seen. We got our keys, unlocked our hotel door, walked in, and was unpleasantly surrounded by a nasty pet urine odor. Not sure how they miss it when they clean the room, but it's very noticeable. But you get used to it... unfortunately. There's not many visible plug-in outlets, so I had to pull the nightstands and couch out from the wall to see if there were any behind them. When pulling one of the nightstands out, there was a huge, dead black bug on the floor on its back-side. I just pushed the nightstand back in. When pulling the couch out, there was a Twix candy wrapper laying on the floor (may be the reason for the bug.) The cable quality is poor. There is a big crack at the bottom of the door that let's the highway noise and air in. People are very loud in the parking lot, stairway, and on the balcony when coming and going (men in particular.) My honest opinion, if I were to stay in Wilmington again, it wouldn't be here. It would be at a hotel that doesn't allow pets so there's no urine odors and isn't as close to the highway as this hotel is.

Room Tip: There's not really a good room. Not unless you get one in the very back so the highway traffic i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedesss_XOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james w, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I want to apologize for the service shortcoming you experienced during your stay. Please call me directly so that i can discuss your stay further. I appreciate your business and look forward to having you back at the hotel. Regards, James Wylie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    46
    26
    34
    86
See reviews for
69
57
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West End, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love that Red Roof Inns are pet friendly. I travel with Great Danes to dog shows mostly. I am happy to stay in a basic hotel that is clean and reasonably priced. I take care that my dogs are well behaved, don't abuse the room and don't bother other guests. I always pick up after my dogs outdoors (and more people who travel with pets should pick up after their dogs...even little ones). I appreciate having a place to stay with pets. This Red Roof in Wilmington, NC was very nice. Very basic accommodations, but clean and tidy. The staff was friendly. I had no problems during my stay that needed attending. The one criticism I would make is they need to get up to date with flat screen t.v.'s. The one I had was very old style...Overall, the stay was great, the room was clean, the dogs and I got a good night's sleep...and bonus, there was a Dunkin Donuts across the parking lot!! <Smile>

Room Tip: Lots of area to walk a dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crotunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james w, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for filling out a survey and staying at the Red Roof Inn, Wilmington, NC. I am happy you took advantage of all of the benefits that the Red Roof Inn Wilmington, NC offers. It's location and service makes the Red Roof Inn, Wilmington, NC, one of the finest hotels in Wilmington, NC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed just one night with no booking: Kyle checked us in, showed us our room beforehand and was extremely helpful and courteous. He gave us the best rate possible and great advise on where to dine, Hyeronimus, just nextdoor. Good directions to downtown, average breakfast. We were definitely satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperoghetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james w, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for staying at The Red Roof. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to meeting you on your next return. Thank you again for your feedback. I will be sure to pass the good words on to Kyle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We called to book when on the road and booked only one night, though considering two. However, the room was really not clean enough to stay another night. Bathroom had grimy corners, the room did really not look clean, and the outside hallways were very dirty, with garbage stacked up by the vending machines. The breakfast was not good (frozen bagels, packaged muffins, etc.) nor well-maintained; of course, the guy at the front desk had to do double duty and cover replenishing the breakfast things as well as covering the front desk, which doesn't help. He did replenish the bagels promptly when asked (of course, they were still frozen then...) A little girl spilled cornflakes all over the outside steps up to the second floor, and they were there for hours. My husband and daughter took a quick swim, and said the pool was fine. My overall impression was that the hotel is simply not well run or maintained.

Room Tip: It sounds like maybe some rooms have been renovated; perhaps asking would mean you could get somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james w, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for staying at The Red Roof. I want to apologize for the service shortcomings you experienced during your stay and will be sharing your comments with my team. Please call me directly so that I can discuss with you in more detail about your stay. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmington hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Normally, I never write reviews, but this was just so bad I wanted to warn others. I saw that they had bad reviews, but from what the manager and other customers posted, they said it was under construction and they were striving to improve (yeah right!) So I thought I would give the manager the benefit of the doubt and book a room for the weekend. I knew $70 was not going to give us a 5 start hotel, but I did think we were going to at least recieve a clean room!

I’ll start with the good because it’s a very short list: pets stay for free, location is pretty good and the beds were surprisingly comfortable.

Now the bad: There is so much I’ll just walk you through my whole experience from the start. Check in is at 3pm and we arrived around 2:50, and they would not allow us to check in until 3! I understand it was only a 10 minute wait, but it’s more about the principle that they would not let us check in until 3 pm on the dot. We waited our 10 minutes and made our way up the stairs. The outside trash cans were over flowing with people junk (PS3 box, beer box, and etc.), this trash stayed there and grew from Friday at 3 until midmorning on Sunday (gross). Someone spilled a chocolate shake on the walkway and down the stairs on Saturday morning and it was still there we left on Sunday!

Now for our room: first reaction was, ok not bad, but once we made our way through the room we decided we should try to find another hotel (we couldn’t). It smelled of heavy smoke, even though it was a non-smoking room. The carpets were discussing and it looked like they have never been cleaned. I refused to walk on it with bare feet. I opened the refrigerator to cool down some waters and the smell was like nothing I have ever smelted before (I did even bother to use the microwave because I was scared of what I would find). The sofa was DISGUSTING, there were stains and rips everywhere! The bathroom vanity has seen some better days. The weird part was the hair dryer was pulled from the wall and just sitting on the vanity. Something that can be easily fixed in just a couple of minutes and yet they would just rather leave it laying around for customers to deal with.

Now the really horrible and scary part, the bathroom! The toilet handle was broken, I had to push it against the toilet then hold it down for a minute or so just to get it to flush. The maids left an empty roll of toilet paper, not that I can’t change it myself, but shouldn’t they take care of that? The bathtub/shower was FULL of mold. Again, it is an easy fix because it was just in the chalking. But again they chose to leave gross and disgusting mold for the customers. I do no think they cleaned the tub from the last customers because there were still soap or shampoo residue (like if a shampoo bottle fell and splattered shampoo everywhere). Also, there were glow in the dark stars in the toliet and bathroom (not too sure about that one?)The tub faucet was lose (I could pull it away from the wall) and was constantly dripping. It has been leaking for so long that it left rust and water marks on the tub. The tub bar, to pull yourself up from the tub, wasn’t even screwed all the way into the wall! I was so grossed out with the tub that I refused to step in it with bare feet. So, I used the wash cloths like shower shoes, and the gross part was that the cloths turned black from the tub!! I refused to use their towels after seeing the wash cloths turn black, so luckily we had some beach towels I used instead.

The overall experience was just AWFUL! If we could have found a different hotel, we would have left within 5 minutes. I have never wanted to go home on a vacation so fast!! I will NEVER stay here again nor will I recommend it to anyone! There is more disappointment on my list, but these were the major complaints. Now that I know the area better, I now know there are SO much better places to stay then here.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james w, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I want to apologize for the service shortcoming you experienced during your stay. Please call me directly so that i can discuss your stay further. I appreciate your business and look forward to having you back at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Brian helped us to find the best rate possible, which we really appreciated! The hotel is in a perfect location and was very comfortable. The continental breakfast needs to be improved upon, however it is nice to have a Waffle House right next door! Thanks for a great stay! We will be back! Terri from Traverse City, Michigan

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james w, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for the your feedback and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you were able to use our great location. I will defintely pass the comments onto Brian, our GSR. I Thank you for your business.I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Brian helped save us a lot of money when we booked our stay so talk to him when you book! The only thing that could use a little help was the free breakfast, but there's a waffle house right next door so it's not a big deal. This is a great place with nice staff and clean, nice rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tealseal103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james w, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for the your feedback and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you were able to use our great location. I will defintely pass the comments onto Brian, our GSR. I Thank you for your business.I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#36 of 44 in Wilmington
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#34 of 44 in Wilmington
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#26 of 44 in Wilmington
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Wilmington - New Centre Drive
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#22 of 44 in Wilmington
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Wilmington

Property: Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Address: 5107 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3431
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing