We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for what we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We stayed one night here and had very good service. The room was exceptionally clean and the breakfast bar had lots of items. We thought this was a good motel for the price, and the location is extremely good, convenient to the University, and Market Street restaurants. The staff was nice and the wi-fi worked great in the room. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SueFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 884 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2008

After seeing decent reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to book the Baymont for a recent visit to Wilmington. I wasn't expecting a 4-star resort or anything, but felt that the motel fell short of expectations mainly because the rooms were very musty - there was no fan or vent in the bathroom (and the windows didn't open) so the whole room steamed up whenever someone took a shower. Everything felt wet, the carpet, bedspread, etc. We sprayed lots of Oust, but it didn't get any better. (I should note that we actually moved rooms due to an impending hurricane, and the issue was the same in both). The continental breakfast was also disappointing - both days the coffee was out, and most of the breakfast items were wrapped in Saran wrap (a pet peeve of mine). However, the front desk service was superb, and the rate was fantastic - I'd say we got what we paid for!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRR1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

This hotel should have a lot going for it, especially for young families with kids. It is in an ideal location in terms of proximity to Wilmington and all beaches, and has many chain restaurants (i.e. Golden Corral and Outback) within close walking distance. There is even a grocery store across the street, for provisions. It seems to be in a relatively safe area, close to the University area. The rooms are well-used, but generally ours was clean when we checked in (we did have a bad air conditioner, but the filter was cleaned and we were good in short order). However, the room cleaning in the days after we checked in (we were there for 7 days, but checked out after 4) was less than adequate, even though we left nice tips each day for the housekeeper. The bathtubs were not cleaned (sand still in the tub), and they did a minimal job of cleaning the floors, carpets and sink area. We found paper and a hair barrette from a previous tenant under the chair, 3 days in...
Biggest issue for this owner is the staff. The front desk person (Ellen) was more interested in a personal phone call than in checking us in...we had to vie for her attention, just to get checked in, even though we were the only ones at the desk! When we were finally checked in, our housekeeper seemed very put out that we would trouble her with the bad air conditioner. When , after 4 days of this, we finally had enough of the bad service and the dirty room, we checked out at 3:00...we were still charged for 1/2 day, because "Checkout time is 2pm" (although checkin time is listed as 3pm. Ellen seemed very uninterested in why we were leaving, which was what we had come to expect from her. Front desk people are the face of a hotel, and the owner needs to understand this.
On the other hand, my wife had a wonderful conversation with the older lady who stocks the breakfast bar (very minimal fare), and she was the best rep for the hotel.
People's attitudes are everything in hospitality...we would not recommend this place, even though the rate is reasonable and the accomodations at leat ok. The owner needs to have a LONG conversation with his employees!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank freekick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I stayed at the Baymont in April of 2008. The hotel had no 2 double beds non smoking rooms available so we stayed in a smoking room, and to my surprise the smell was not to bad!. A pretty good breakfast selection( waffles, cereal, fruit, french toast. Nice little pool area, a little small but it was nice. The two best things about this hotel are the price and location. The AAA rate was very good compared to other hotels in the area at the same time. Also, it is very close to many places to eat and shop, so it will be good to park your car and walk around to do stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank d84martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We had to change rooms after the first night. We had a pet, so we stayed in a pet friendly room. Unfortunately, they 'say' they shampooed the carpets, and maybe they did as the carpet was wet. The room had an awful mold smell, as did the next two rooms they tried to move us to. The staff and breakfast were great, but our room was awful.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lorieschiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I loved staying here! I'm picky as well, and I found this hotel clean, beds were comfortable, staff friendly...was just a GREAT experience! Would definately stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rhiannon2luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This is a wonderful hotel. Clean, close to many places to eat. Friendly staff. Safe and in a nice part of town near NC University of Wilmington. I will be staying there again and I'm very picky.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#31 of 45 in Wilmington
28 reviews
4.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Wilmington
WoodSpring Suites Wilmington
#34 of 45 in Wilmington
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#26 of 45 in Wilmington
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 45 in Wilmington
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington

Address: 306 S College Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $75 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Fairfield Inn by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Baymont Inn And Suites Wilmington
Baymont Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing