We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Wilmington / University
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The staff was very friendly, but the room didn't feel very clean.
The room felt damp unless the A.C. was cranked up all the way. The carpet always felt damp The towels were noticeably stained, & the bottom sheet on the bed was put on the wrong way, which made me wonder if instead of changing the sheets after the last guest left they just flipped it over. Also, there were people that seemed to be just wandering around the parking lot. It didn't feel very safe.
The best thing about staying here was the small restaurant attached to the office. The food was very good!
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 639 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Pet friendly which was a plus. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is convenient to downtown Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. The room however was damp ... Carpet was damp and the room had a musty smell. The room was generally clean. It could use a new paint job and a new carpet.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank PWDGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I actually enjoyed my stay at this hotel, rooms were very clean comfortable and had everything I needed in a hotel room. The beds were to die for, although pillows could be a little better. The cleaning staff works hard to keep the rooms up to par. The pool was crystal clear, the property was very well maintained for an older hotel. Even though there was no contennital breakfast the restaurant was very good and the food was so fresh. The front desk staff is excellent, James is very professional in his job and did everything in his power to make our stay comfortable, anytime I needed anything he was able to make it happen. I highly recommend this hotel and will make sure if any of my friends comt to Wilmington to call this Days Inn and speak to James to make a reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sudie W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I booked the Days Inn using Hotels.com but was unable to keep my reservation due to a death in the family. Hotels.com was willing to re-book the hotel for another day but Days Inn would not allow a new reservation because they said I was a no show and charged me full cost for the room. I feel like this is bad business.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank KerryFM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
1.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#26 of 45 in Wilmington
228 reviews
4.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Wilmington
WoodSpring Suites Wilmington
#33 of 45 in Wilmington
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 45 in Wilmington
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#36 of 45 in Wilmington
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Wilmington / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Wilmington / University

Address: 5040 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $66 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Wilmington / University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose our Days Inn Wilmington / University hotel for value and friendly service on your coastal getaway. Located on Route 17, Wilmington, NC near the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, our hotel offers easy access to Atlantic Ocean beaches, restaurants, shopping, outdoor recreation, and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Wilmington / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Wilmington Market Street Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing