We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of The Verandas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Verandas
Ranked #4 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2011

A great place to stay and reenergize. Dennis and Chuck provide a great space to rejuvenate. We felt like we owned the house, had our own space to relax and felt comfortable to utilize other rooms without feeling like we were invading...

Jeff can speak to the yummy chocolate chip cookies and the nightly wine was perfect after a day walking the Greenville Lake area or checking out the hermit bunker on Kure beach.

A beautiful time in Wilmington! Thanks Dennis & Chuck.

Room Tip: Know what you like -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeCoachAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 307 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

Greeted by lovely veranda, 1 of many. Our hostess subbing for the owners was very charming. We were treated with a wine (a bit sweet) happy hour, no nibbles though. Our room was a trek to the 2nd floor with luggage but was very nice. Even the bath was nice. We had 2 verandas off our room. Breakfast was good but a bit early for us @8:30 sharp around the communal DR table which I do not like. Overall an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband and I made the reservation on my iphone as we were driving from Charlotte to Wilmington, a last minute addition to our roadtrip. Not only did we fall in love with the beautiful, historic town but we were sure we had lucked out in getting a room at this beautiful inn. Dennis and Chuck are the perfect hosts. We were met at the door upon our arrival, given a comprehensive tour of the historic old home and then left to enjoy our stay with a sincere request from the owners to make ourselves at home. I have had the experience of staying in similar places where one gets the feeling that they are intruding in someone else's home...but not here. Dennis and Chuck were masters in their ability to host, accomodate, guide and give their guests the breathing room to feel taken care of and at home. The rooms are lovely and each different (we were invited to look into any of the vacant ones that we wished) with an experts attention to detail, the breakfast was white-tablecloth-worthy and I can't say enough good things about the owners. This is the perfect place to stay in Wilmington!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrettmariag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay in room #4 at The Verandas in the historic district of Wilmington, North Carolina. The B & B owners, Dennis and Chuck, represent the ultimate in innkeepers: finding ways to delight their guests. The rooms were spacious and very quiet, the wine was generously provided each afternoon at 5PM, the home-baked cookies were superlative, and the breakfasts were stupendous (you won't need to eat lunch!). Most distinctively, Dennis and Chuck genuinely cared about the guests. We were there during a cold snap, and Chuck warned us each morning about the potential for black ice before we started driving. And Dennis took the time to show me the most direct route back to Ohio since he had made that drive many times. If you find yourself in the Wilmington area, you can do no better than a stay at The Verandas.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

My new wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The Verandas for the first two nights of our Honeymoon. We had an odd night stay (Saturday & Sunday nights), so we were the only guests Sunday night. Chuck & Dennis made us feel like royalty the entire time we were there. Our breakfasts were exquisite and the service was impeccable.

Sunday afternoon we were relaxing on one of the 2nd floor verandas overlooking downtown Wilmington. The chair swings and rocking chairs coupled with the chilled wine that was served put us both in a trance-like relaxation state that was hard to shake off. We both agreed that we wished that moment could have lasted forever.

We can't hardly wait to revisit this extraordinary establishment on our anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyInRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This is a remarkable B&B. Excellent location in Wilmington's old town. A meticuously restored 1850s mansion, beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable, with very friendly, informative and helpful hosts. This is truly a home away from home, and we were sorry to have to leave after two nights. Breakfast is described as "gourmet", and it is. Some first rate restaurants for dinner within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmcleod44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

If you are trying to decide where to stay in Wilmington, look no further. My spouse and I stayed for 3 fabulous nights. It was our first time staying in a B&B, so I did a lot of homework before choosing The Verandas and we were NOT disappointed. All of the reviews were 100% accurate. From the moment we rang the doorbell until we left, we felt like we were at home in our own magnificent mansion. The location is excellent, the amenities exceed the finest hotels we have stayed in and the gourmet breakfasts are sensational. We stayed in Room 4 and it is even more beautiful than the photo. We're not ones to just stay in our room and were very comfortable hanging out in the living areas and getting to know our new friends Chuck and Dennis and some other guests. However, if we had wanted to keep to ourselves, they would have respected our privacy. There aren't words descriptive enough to convey our memorable experience. Stay here and you will see what I mean.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gutsandbutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
1,463 reviews
6.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.1 mi away
C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandas

Address: 202 Nun St, Wilmington, NC 28401-5020
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $209 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandas is a beautifully restore antebellum mansion in the heart of the Historic District. Two block walk to The Riverwalk, and 8 blocks to 70 restaurants. Located on a quiet residential street, this property is close to the commercial aspects downtown, but it is in a residential neighborhood. The Verandas has been AAA Four Diamond since 2001, and a member of the exclusive Select Registry. Our goal is to provide you the best experience we can. We would love to have you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Verandas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandas Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing