We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Rosehill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosehill Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2010

When on vacation from the UK we were travelling around Virgina and North Carolina only booking one stay ahead. We researched whilst on our travels for accommadation with good reviews and were pleased to find that there was a vacancy for the 2 nights. Tricia and Bob were very welcoming and the room was so comfotable. Bottled water and chocolates left in the room everyday and the help yourself night time brandy on the porch was a lovely touch. The location is very handy only a few minutes walk from the atmospheric waterfront where there are plenty of good restaurants to choose from. The breakfasts were great, fresly cooked and varied with good coffee.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank KateBenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Rosehill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 77 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2010

Bob, Tricia, and Shane made our stay a delight as always. This was our third stay at Rosehill Inn and I hope it won't be our last but we don't get there often now.

They bend over backwards to accommodate dietary restrictions if known and the rooms are exceptionally clean.

One of the best B&B's.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southernlady5464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Bob, the owner, is a very nice man (his wife and son also are innkeepers). He is engaging in conversation and can recommend several great places to eat. The home itself is a large older home in downtown Wilmington that has been very well taken care of and preserved.
We enjoyed our stay at Rosehill and the owner's were nice, but felt uncomfortable within the surroundings. You cannot have food of any kind in your rooms. Check out is at 11am and as we were walking out the door of our room at 11:10am, the phone rang and the person on the other end said, "this is just a reminder that check out is at 11am." I thought that was unnecessary. Everything is locked so your can't just find yourself an extra towel. Parking is limited and can be somewhat challenging on the street. Breakfast was not good. At the dining table one morning, a guest drank from his glass and sat it back on the table which was not covered by a table cloth. One of the innkeeper's reached past the guest and moved the guest's glass over to a coaster. (I thought that was completely uncalled for.)
There is a great porch across the front with swings for enjoying the afternoons and the location is great for enjoying downtown without having to drive everywhere.
The Rosehill Inn was elegant, but you are not made to feel at home at all! Even as adults, we felt like children in a store that could not touch anything for fear your hand may get slapped.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pirates98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My wife & I booked a room at the Rosehill for the Fourth of July weekend. We have stayed at several bed & breakfasts in NC and this was our first visit to the Rosehill. It has become one of our personal favorites.
The owners were away but a gentleman by the name of Tom served as our innkeeper. He could not be more friendly and accommodating. The house is beautiful and the whole time we were there, it felt as though we were staying with family.
I am diabetic and this has created problems for me when it comes to breakfast at some places but not the Rosehill. I was served an excellent meal that was low in sugar/carbs both days of our stay.
If you are traveling to Wilmington for either business or pleasure, I highly recommend the Rosehill. You will be well taken care of!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabfourfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Rosehill Inn for Valentine's weekend and thought it was fabulous. Everything was clean and bright and roomy. We stayed in the Wedgewood Room. The owners were not pushy about anything. Kudos!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lessnow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Rosehill to celebrate our First Anniversary. We had never been to a bed and breakfast and we chose Rosehill Inn after searching online. Rosehill is conveniently located on Third Street downtown Wilmington, eyes view of the waterway and walking distance of fine restaurants and lots of area attractions. We stayed in the Wedgewood Suite, which was large and spacious with it's own private balcony and entry way. We had a frig and pantry exclusive to our suite and another adjacent to us. We were greeted by the innkeeper pleasantly and introduced to the home and others but unfortunately the heat pump was being ungraded so temperatures were a bit hot for a few hours but alas! it cooled down and Bob and Trish were more than accommodating. Third Street is VERY BUSY and there is no private parking so be prepared to search for parking with plans of leaving your car in place to keep your spot. BUT our Wedgewood Suite was completely quiet and devoid of any street noise. The bed was heavenly, the claw tub was wonderful and the electric fireplace was nice to use even just for the lighted ambiance. We were provided bottled water, bedside chocolates and the morning breakfast was PERFECT! The house is a treasure and we had a delightful stay even though our trip was cancelled a night short by family emergencies...pricey since we already had the room paid in full. But Bob and Trish were understanding and even offered us a discount when we come back and visit again...and we will. Customized toiletries and fluffy robes are provided, all you need to do is bring yourself! (see pics we provided)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank always2fast4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

A wonderful inn, very convenient to the river front. Great hosts and the food was awesome! I would highly recommend Rosehill Inn! The only negative was the street noise...which we were warned about. (I didn't realize 3rd street was a major cut-through street) so I would recommend a room that faces the back of the property...although we stayed in the Heritage Room and it did not interfere with our wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NCTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 45 in Wilmington
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehill Inn

Address: 114 S 3rd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4556
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $85 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing