We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”
Review of Rosehill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosehill Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stay at Rose hill Inn when we visit Wilmington, NC. We always find Bob,Trisha, and Sean to be gracious and helpful, and the food is scrumptious. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast!!!! It is in walking distance of the riverfront shops and the restaurants downtown. It is a very relaxing place for a Wilmington vacation!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 81 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

When we arrived we were told that an incident had happened in the room that we reserved so that we would have to take a 2nd floor room. Bob and Tricia's sisters were visiting that night. Tricia's sister from Myrtle Beach was evidently given our room. We saw her go in and out of our room a number of times. Although we have a little trouble climbing stairs we were able to get back and forth to our substituted 2nd floor room.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

First of all thanks to Tricia, Bob, and Sean for making our first ever stay at a B&B a memorable one. We stayed in the Wedgewood room. It was very spacious and great location on the back of the house. The bathroom had an antique claw foot tub. The shower pressure was the best!!

As for the two breakfasts, superb!! The first day we had Bob's famous pecan-banana pancakes, and Tricia's ramakins filled with grits, bacon, cheese and egg casserole (Wow that was good!!) along with bacon, country sausage, and fresh fruit. The second day we had French toast topped with fresh peaches and blueberries, little eggs with bacon, fresh fruit, and a smoked sausage.

We highly recommend this B&B...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cba001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rose Hill Inn over the July 4th Holiday Weekend. Trish and Bob were absent during our stay, but Sean and Tom took great care of their guests that weekend. The bed in the Regency room was VERY comfortable. We were especially pleased with the delicious breakfasts that were served each morning, promptly at 9am.(see pic). Plenty to eat, with coffee and several juices to choose from. We found the location to be close to everything on the waterfront, and the location is quiet. In the evening, upon our return from the waterfront area, we would have a sip of the brandy, peppermint schnapps, or sherry that was available in the dining room. A small snack bowl had peanuts and various candy bar bites. We will definately stay here again when we come back to Wilmington.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REBELJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and everything was perfect. Great central locations in walking distance to the river, Front Street, shops & restaurants. Trish, Bob, and Sean, the owners make you feel right at home. Breakfast was special and served in style.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 138Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are frequent visitors to B&Bs, and we love it when we find one in which we "truely feel at home"! The inn keepers, Bob, Tricia, and Sean, are all wonderful hosts. They are there to help with anything one might need - assistance with luggage, suggestions for shopping or sight seeing, and recommendations for wonderful restaurants. Breakfast is always a real treat. It is served promptly at 9:00am each morning with the guests all seated around a huge table in the beautiful dining room. Bob, Tricia, and Sean interact with the guests, and the conversations are interesting and informative.

When we visit Wilmington, we always stay at Rosehill Inn. We have always found the service and hospitality to be excellent. It is great to know that we have a "home away from home" in Wilmington, North Carolina.

Jimmie and Elvia Lucas

Room Tip: We have stayed in several, and we liked them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We love B&B's and have made it our mission to use them as much as possible when visiting new cities such as Wilmington. We had a great trip, but experienced both the good and the bad with this home.

The Good: This house is a beautiful home outside and in, decorated with classic furniture and high quality antiques. It is in a great location, just minutes walking from front street and many other things we wanted to see. We didn't have any problems with our listing or parking. The porches are fantastic , the bed was very comfortable, and the cable and wireless internet worked great.

The Sub-par: Upon arrival, we were told the owners were on vacation, but that their son, Sean, the future owner, was going to take care of us. He has a lot to learn about catering to house guests. He showed us a local travel map, where we were, then got straight to collecting our money. Later on, it was little or no conversation when we met in the hallways, and when I checked out with arms full, he never even got up to open the large double doors to the street. Our Bedroom, the Heritage, was a beautiful room but was hot from a warm day and there is no individual air conditioning controls for each room. The windows are painted shut to discourage self ventilation, but a 12inch fan is provided, lol. I had to manually shut the radiator off to control the room from getting too hot and the constant "psst" of the radiator pressure relief valve. Our bathroom was small and only contained a shower, no problem because we expected it, but it had mismatched, repaired towel holders, a broken privacy shade, and a mismatched toilet seat. The toilet was prone to being stopped up (a chronic problem we learned), with a plunger provided that was so old it didn't snap back. By the way, a tall person would have trouble sitting down. Other oddities included no access to the kitchen or ice, which had to be requested from the house attendant, Tom (a very nice guy, but unknowing host), if you could find him. Who wants to call the house basement to get ice at 12am when you want ice for a drink? Breakfast was good with the exception that the food that was supposed to be hot, eggs and pancakes on the first morning, and a tasty pineapple casserole and french toast on the second morning, were cold. We got the feeling the plates were prepared and set out such that by the time we came down, 15 mins past 9am, they had already cooled. Lastly, there is a string of cheapness about the place ... once, I asked Sean (the owner's son) if he knew there was a basket of partial toilet paper rolls in the downstairs bathroom? He said, "yeah, they are there so people will use them up before asking for a new roll." Really! How about you use them up, and give the guests a new roll.

This B&B can be top notch with a some minor touches and an attitude change, but maybe we just caught them on a rough weekend. Wilmington was a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Pick a room near the back of the house away from the front street noise and the morning and afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.2 mi away
Front Street Inn
Front Street Inn
#8 of 18 in Wilmington
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#4 of 18 in Wilmington
309 reviews
6.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Wilmington, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehill Inn

Address: 114 S 3rd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4556
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $85 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing