We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good visit”
Review of Graystone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Graystone Inn
Ranked #12 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good visit”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a good time here. Really cool place for my wife and I to spend a quick weekend away. Hosts were very accomodating. Food was decent. Parking was a bit annoying, but that is not the fault of the Inn. It is simply a case of Wilmington pretending to be a bigger city than it is. Parking should be free in that area.

Room Tip: If you are with more than one couple, claim the top floor. It's pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yourfriend6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    20
    6
    7
    10
See reviews for
6
98
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My previous review was deleted apparently. My wife an I were married there on Feb 14th 2010. Made reservations plenty early in order to secure our "wedding" night room for our first anniversary. A couple weeks prior to our anniversary we were notified we could no longer have that room because a movie was going to be made there - and the production crew wanted our RESERVED ROOM early. Nothing would change the owners mind. It became apparent when I rented the entire Inn for my wedding they were happy to have that big charge. However, wanting only one room wasn't enough and we got cancelled for corporate America. Will never be back.

Room Tip: Tip - make sure you have an alternate plan before counting on staying there - unless you can afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Our most recent visit to the Graystone Inn was Oct. 18-20, 2011. We have been returning each year since 2008 when we were married and my husband booked us at the most exquisite B&B in the world for our honeymoon. Marcia and Rich are extremely gracious and friendly Inn Keepers and will go out of their way to make you feel right at home and comfortable. Dale does an incredible job as well. We think of them as family.

We have always loved Wilmington and have had fun on trips to the beach, but now we have a special place to call our home away from home. The entire house is elegant and filled with the most beautiful antiques one can imagine. We just love everything about the charm and warmth that we feel while in the ambience of this luxurious mansion. Amazing gourmet breakfast that always pleases the palate.

Staying at the Graystone is altogether an incomparably gracious, elegant, enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Large, beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wauwatosa, wi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Graystone Inn in October, 2011 for one night. Beautiful building, great location, great owners, fabulous breakfast.

Even the smallest of the rooms is very large compared to the other B&B's we've stayed at.

The owners Rich and Marcia were extremely gracious, and the front desk clerks were also very accommodating and friendly.

Very nice touch having free wine and snacks in the library at 6pm--it was nice to sit can chat with some of the other guests.

The bedroom was perfect! Very nice quality bedding. The walls of the Inn keep sound out very well. Beautiful furnishings. Fabulous shower!

Location was the best for us. Walking distance to everything in downtown Wilmington, and the river.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beermandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The rooms are lovely, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and the innkeepers are warm and welcoming while allowing privacy and giving great restaurant recommendations. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Graystone Inn for one evening after having it recommended by friends. We were looking forward to it after looking at the website, even though it was a bit pricey. The outside of the inn looks nothing like the website. Very overgrown, we even had trouble finding the house itself. No grounds and the outside verandas were dirty with cigarette butts. We did not have a welcoming start as we were there before 4:00, rang the bell, clerk peeked out the door and told us check-in was 4:00. Then proceeded to close and lock door again. They were getting ready for a private party that evening. That started the rest of our somewhat less than pleasing experience. The private party took up the entire downstairs and we had to be sequestered in the upstairs (the stairs were even roped off). When we tried to come downstairs to the library where we were told there would be wine and cheese for us, we were ushered back up to the 3rd floor sitting room (uninviting) with a bottle of wine and a dish of stale bar snacks. We were the only ones in the Inn that evening so we didn't even have the fun of talking and getting to know others. Our room was just OK. Nothing plush about this at all. We've stayed in lots of B & B's and this is probably a 3 on 1-10 scale of plushness. Don't expect any WiFi as we didn't have a signal the entire time we were there. The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed talking to the owner. However, he put us off a bit when we told him where we had dinner the night before. He said he would've recommended 2 or 3 a lot better than the one we chose. We didn't tell him that his clerk DID recommend this restaurant to us. The final straw was when we checked out, he pointed out the line for a tip and "suggested" a tip for the housekeeper. This was a first for me as I've never had an owner have the gall to suggest a tip. I like to address my complaints with the owners or general managers before I write a review so I emailed the owner with the above comments. I received a very nice email back but he didn't address any of the complaints, kind of "Who cares". Don't go here if you have a choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ScNebraskatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

An experience that will stay with you for all the wrong reasons. Rude and unwelcoming staff and owners who subject you to a 20min monologue on the rules of the house (there are many!), we asked ourselves if we were being checked into a prison rather than a supposedly luxury inn. Their attitude is appalling. The owners and staff would be well advised to remember that a smile costs nothing. So much for southern hospitality. No grounds, extremely limited parking. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank travelkat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graystone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graystone Inn

Property: Graystone Inn
Address: 100 S 3rd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Graystone Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing