We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bargain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Quilcene, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for several nights. The front desk staff and cleaning staff all were courtious and friendly. At first glance you would think this facility would be loud and noisy from road noise; we stayed on back side and it was very quiet. The room was clean and I loved the fact that it was set up with cups, plates, coffee maker etc., even a hairdryer. This is a blue-collar facility, if you are looking for froo-froo this isn't it. However, if you are looking for a great place to swim, cook in the kitchenette, store cold stuff in the refer, access the local beaches, at a great price, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seswilmington, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for stay with us at the Suburban Extended Stay in Wilmington. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how your stay was. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    57
    17
    7
    14
See reviews for
51
49
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This place is a hidden gem among many hotels that are over priced and no better! Queen bed is firm and comfy, staff are super nice and helpful, room is clean, water pressure is great for wife to wash hair, refrig etc. so convenient, location is 6 mi. from beach, pool is spotless!
Hotwire rate was way less than Marriott etc.
COME ON!

Room Tip: No breakfast etc. so they choose to trim back on amenities. Just me and wife...unsure about family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezspeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seswilmington, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
We would like to Thank you for staying with us on your most recent trip to Wilmington. Thank you for the good remarks about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Spend a few more dollars and find something better, which wouldn't be hard to do. Non smoking room reeked of smoke; door fit so poorly you could see outside between the door & the jam; we definitely did not feel secure in this place.
Housekeeping & linens 1 x a week???
We actually considered leaving and just 'eating' the cost, it was that unpleasant.
Very old property with some poor efforts to upgrade. Would never stay here again and cannot recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seswilmington, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Suburban Extended Stay hotel in Wilmington. I would like to apologize that you had the issue with the door and also with the room smelling like smoke. We are currently in the process of changing out our doors in the next 30 days. We would like to apologize for the room smelling like smoke. We try and keep the previous guest from smoking in our nonsmoking rooms. We charge them a damage fee and then we go though a process to rid the room of the smoke smell. It sounds like this didn't work in the room you stayed in. If you would have notified us of the two problems we would have offered you another room. We are a extended stay hotel so we do not do housekeeping on a nightly basis. If you want to pay a high rate we could have had housekeeping come in on a daily basis. If you had checked out early we would have refunded you what you did not use. Had you notified me I would have gave you a room with no issues and would have also explained to you why we only come in and do housekeeping once a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I would like to tell everyone at the hotel that I was extremely impressed with my 2 night stay and for making it a care free stay. The front desk folks were most courteous. When I got to my room, I noticed a nice quaint kitchenette with over the stove microwave, coffee pot,(with coffee for brewing I must say), cabinets stocked with all cookware and utensils, and a clean frost free refrigerator. The bathroom was clean, and stocked with toiletries and thick white towels and wash cloths. (Nice water pressure too!) The queen size bed was comfortable too. It felt like it may have been a pillow top. Never the less, it slept well! The room was clean and tidy, and although I was here on a fishing trip, it was nice to come in to a fresh clean room to relax. I'll surely come back and stay, and hope others discover the same quiet atmosphere and other accommodations as I did. Great job!

Room Tip: Not sure if it has a fitness center or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seswilmington, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We take alot of pride in being able to read reviews our guest write. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Josh, the front desk clerk, went out of his way to hold on and secure my daughters pink blanket which she left in our hotel room. He knew how important it was to us...she was adopted 7 years ago with that blanket. He made sure we got it back. Now...the room was clean and I liked the set up with the kitchen; only criticism would be the horrible old filthy rug. Everything else was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seswilmington, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for leaving the good comments about Josh and your Pink Blanket. We will be sure to pass on your remarks to him. I would like to apologize for you carpet being dirty. We strive to make sure all the items in each room is clean to the Guest Expectations. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Room near the office was large with a large bathroom. Everything was clean, including dishes and refrigerator. There was some thumping noise from upstairs early but nothing terrible. On the weekend there was a bit of carrying on in the parking lot by nitwits which did not last long. Staff was polite and efficient, even scrounged me up some pepper. Be aware of rate changes if you shorten your stay - our $62.99 rate for five nights went to $79.99 when we wanted to change to four, so we opted to pay for the extra night and check out later in the afternoon without staying the night. They do not clean rooms daily, but you can take your towels to the office and get clean ones with no problem. Pool was clean and good temperature, and they did have towels there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seswilmington, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Our rates do change from the 4 night stay to the 5 night stay. We have different rate tiers that are 1-4, 5 to 11, 12 to 29 and 30 plus. The longer you stay with us the cheaper it is. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

While the front desk clerk was courteous and sweet...the rooms were awful.

It was as if the rooms had never been clean. There were roaches in the bathroom, and palmetto bugs near the kitchen. The counters of the efficiency were sticky and the cabinets were greasy and disgusting. I was afraid to open any of them for fear of more bugs.

The clerk was wonderful when I complained and quickly refunded my credit card. (Thank YOU).

Room Tip: This hotel needs a complete overhaul - not to mention a visit from Terminix
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sm0kin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seswilmington, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We apologize for you seeing pametto bugs in the room. We have had some issues with us being an exterior hotel. I am not sure why your room was not cleaned as we usually compliements on our clean rooms. In this case we failed and we do apologize for this. We hope that one day you will give us another chance so that we can show you that is not normal for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#24 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#29 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Wilmington - New Centre Drive
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington

Property: Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
Address: 245 Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-0519 (Formerly HomeStay Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Of Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Suburban Extended Stay Wilmington
Extended Stay Wilmington
Wilmington Suburban Extended Stay
Wilmington Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing