We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Cupcakes!”

The Peppered Cupcake
Ranked #1 of 28 Dessert in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $4
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: The Peppered Cupcake is a gourmet cupcakery. Our mission is to provide even the most sophisticated palette with creative, exciting, irresistible, gourmet cupcakes that will give a whole new twist to the cupcake concept. Each of our gourmet cupcake recipes are baked fresh and from scratch daily using fresh ingredients. Off the hook! Our slogan is what inspires us to think outside of the box when it comes to our next creation. We are constantly inventing and reinventing our recipes to please our sophisticated Foodies. Our cupcakes are unique combinations inspired by some of our favorite dishes. Some sweet, some savory, some a combination of both. Southern influences have also made an impact by incorporating a Southern flare into some of our cupcakes such as the Sweet Tater & Molasses with pork cracklings. We also use liquors and liqueurs and sometimes they make it into the cakes;) Need we say more?
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Cupcakes!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

These are the best cupcakes I have ever eaten in my entire life! I tried the apples and cinnamon along with the banana split. Amazing, you cannot visit Wilmington and not pay them a visit. Yes it is pricey but worth every penny.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Owner at The Peppered Cupcake, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! Your review brought us some business today. It is folks like you that take the time to review places you've visited that help us to thrive on word of mouth advertising alone. So thankful this site exists! The best cupcake you've ever eaten? Wow, so happy to hear you were impressed!!!! Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    32
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes ever......”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We happened upon this place while writing a review for another restaurant on Tripadvisor. "A place that serves just cupcakes, is the #1 restaurant in Wilmington?" Color us intrigued. Well, it was deserving, and then some. If it were possible to eat only cupcakes to live, this would be the place to go. Wife likes the peach daiquiri, while I love the bourbon pecan pie. The most ridiculous cupcakes we have ever eaten. Their website gives you a list of what is being made that day, as they mix it up. If you want, you can call ahead and pick yours and pay and come by later and pick them up. The reason for doing this is that this place is getting popular and they could run out of that favorite flavor of yours if you wait too late. Nice owners. Keep up the great work. Good to see a local business thriving.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sailfishnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Owner at The Peppered Cupcake, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! Wow...not sure what to say on this one! Thank you! Thank you! We get a lot of folks that say they don't know why we are in the "Restaurant" category...We don't select it, TripAdvisor automatically places us there if you serve food. Tickled to pop up when folks are looking for great restaurants..so we'll take it however we can get it...lol. Very kind of you to take the time to write a really cool review for us. Yes, we offer curbside for those folks that can't or don't want to take the time to park downtown. It can be a hassle at times and folks really seem to like the concept. Speaking of eating only cupcakes, we have some new ones up our sleeve that will be out in September such as a bacon wrapped date with rosemary sitting on top of a goatcheese buttercream and drizzled with honey. Then the newest is a Balsamic Bruschetta. Yes, a corn muffin filled with creme fraiche and topped with fresh tomatoes marinated in balsamic, olive oil and fresh basil topped off with none other than fresh cracked Pepper...so, lunch in a cupcake:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful all around”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We specifically made this a stop on our recent family vacation. I tried the creme brûlée and was very impressed. I've tried many different cupcakes and now this raises the bar to a whole other level. Too bad it's not closer to us :-).

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Owner at The Peppered Cupcake, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! We keep raising the bar on ourselves with reviews like this...lol...thank you for taking the time to share with folks about your experience...hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sweet Treat”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stopped in for some cupcakes as a dessert to our lunch. We each had a different flavor. They were all so moist, and the frosting was so light and delicate but packed with flavor. We have a gourmet cupcake shop in our hometown, but this was a delightful option on our vacation. We had the creme brulee, chocolate revelation, vanilla bean, chocolate éclair, and a couple others that I forgot the names of. Very nice little finish to a lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank CFP1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Owner at The Peppered Cupcake, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! Love to hear folks are placing us on their "to do" list as they visit
Wilmington. So happy to hear you enjoyed your selections and we do hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Park Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So many cupcakes - so little time!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Not sure why the PC is considered here as a restaurant except that they have a table inside and a bench on the walk outside, so I guess you can buy your cupcake and eat it too right there. Anyway, the cupcakes are really really good. It will take you more time to select one (or a dozen) than to eat it. They are also a visual treat - worth a quick photo before gobbling it down. They had about 12-15 varieties to choose from. We had a bourbon-pecan and a creme-brulee and we were happy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wine-o-saur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabitha M, Owner at The Peppered Cupcake, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review! Yes, we too think there should be a different category for dessert places. However, if you serve food at all, according to TripAdvisor you can only fit into one category. All of dessert shops on TripAdvisor are listed in the restaurant category. So happy to hear you thought there was a good selection and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peppered Cupcake also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Peppered Cupcake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing