We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value good fun”

Dock Street Oyster Bar
Ranked #15 of 668 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a Family owned Business that takes great pride in using Locally sourced Seafood and Vegetables at affordable prices . We have been voted Best Oyster bar by Encore readers in Wilmington 15 years in a row.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value good fun”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

great oysters reasonable priced loved the fun atmosphere and friendly knowledgeable service
Good fish tacos too

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank francorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    111
    29
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Who would put garlic and horseradish in Alfredo sauce with shrimp? Dock Street Oyster Bar! Served over linguine, it's delicious. My friends had steamed crab legs, oyster soup and fish tacos and they were happy. Lots of great steamed and grilled seafood selections, salads, and it's always super fresh.
It's in the heart of downtown Wilmington, with a patio that puts you in the middle of the action, and on many nights, there's live music.
The salads are crispy and there’s also a very good selection of vegetarian dishes, including a black bean burger accompanied by fried and salad. You’ll leave satisfied and looking forward to your next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BailsB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood restaurant”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

From appetizers of oysters, shrimp in a creamy garlic horseradish sauce, Mac n' cheese with Cajun crab to entrees of the freshest steamer platters and crab legs, everything we tasted at this oyster bar was delicious!!! Our server Jessica was fantastic! We will definitely return again and again!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Oyster Bar”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we ate here and everything was a good as the first time we went there with family. We had oysters, crab legs for starter, and shared a main which was fresh grilled grouper, excellent, again the service was superb.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,SC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Terrific Experience!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

When a placed is packed on a Tuesday night, you know the food must be good! And it is! It was our first time at DSOB and we loved it. The place has a great vibe and friendly service. The waitress offered great suggestions for us when asked. We started with the calamari appetizer. SO different and SOOO good! Not fried and in a fabulous sauce. LOVED it! From there, we had the fish tacos and the Legs and Tails. Both were amazing. Wish we lived closer so we could go more often! The only negative as at the end of the meal, they took our card to pay the bill and were gone with it for an extended period of time. I don't like my card being out of my eyesight for that long. The table next to us had their card gone even longer than ours. Overall, a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmiller387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Street Oyster Bar also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Dock Street Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing