We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“somewhere between average and very good....I call it good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“somewhere between average and very good....I call it good”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were there for a wedding (in Tar Heel) the week of New Years Eve so I know this property would be a lot quieter on a normal day. Broke my golden hotel rule...never get a room by the elevator, especially on New Years Eve...some guy at 3 am couldn't get a cab and let the whole floor know. That being said the hotel, the property and the employees made this a "good" hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umbertobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-Mayfaire, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello umbertobb; Thank for choosing to stay with us while attending a wedding in the area. Good is good for most hotels. We prefer being GREAT and are sorry you had to tolerate a rude guest. Location of one’s room really shouldn't matter. There is no excuse for the person who over-indulges on New Year's Eve. If travel brings you back to Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, we certainly hope you choose to stay with us again. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    202
    66
    45
    15
See reviews for
390
225
63
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The location was great, but the young lady who check us in was friendly.But she put my last name in as BI, I don't know how she gets this from Magat' as it turn out my credit card decline because she types my last name as BI.Second we get into our room and wifi does not work it loads but just freezes! Children are really upset about this no x-box live,Facebook,etc. Many complaint to front desk same girl who checks us in no solution at all so we finally gave up went to bed. next morning the front desk guy name Ray was not informed about any problems that night was very helpful and professional he completely took care of our problems and concerns. Thank you Ray!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magata38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-Mayfaire, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you Magata38 for the feedback from your recent stay with us. We completely understand that when the Internet connection is down the kids are not going to be happy. AT&T corrected the situation as quickly as possible. Unfortunately you had to endure the inconvenience. We're very sorry for that. Thankfully Ray saved the day for you! He does a great job of ensuring that all of our guests are happy and comfortable. As far as the issue with your credit card and your name; since I was not involved, I really can’t speak to what happened. The name shouldn’t affect the card going through. Not sure what the issue was. We’re sorry...That being said, if travel brings you back to Wilmington, please give us another chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here Christmas night. I didn't note his name, but the gentleman who checked us in at 3 pm was very cheerful and personable - even though he was stuck working on Christmas Day! We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, since we left immediately after check-in to meet family. But, upon returning at midnight, we were greeted by the front desk staff and wished a good night. A blanket was available in the room --Yay!! a BIG plus, since we get too warm sleeping with a comforter and usually have to call housekeeping and wait for a blanket. Our room was very clean, as was the bathroom. Not a hair on the floor, no dirt - even in corners. (I know because I awoke in the middle of the night and had to spend time on the bathroom floor waiting for some nausea to pass:-)) The room was very quiet, except for the noise of the heat/ac unit - which was a bit noisy, but it was a pretty constant, dull tone, and the on/off didn't startle you like some places. The bed was comfortable; pillows squishy/firm comfortable. My husband used the small fitness room the next morning and got a decent workout. We didn't try out the restaurant and really had no other contact with anyone, but we would definitely stay here again if we returned to the area. Very convenient to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-Mayfaire, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
SuzInNC! TMI as it relates to the night you spent on the bathroom floor in your room. :)
We're sorry you were not feeling too well but glad you were able to get an up-close and personal look at our clean bathroom floors. That being said, you probably missed Santa coming down our lobby fireplace. Seriously though; thank you for the very kind remarks regarding your brief stay with us on Christmas Night. We're honored that you chose to stay with us. We look forward to having you guys stay with us again. Also note that if your husband is looking for more of a work-out next time, all of our guests can use a complimentary day pass at the nearby Gold's Gym. Beach season is right around the corner! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location was great and the staff was very friendly and professional. Housekeeping was outstanding, wait staff (Nick and Rick) in the breakfast room were great, front desk (Eric and Ray) always had a friendly word and smile, and sales manager who made our reservation was wonderful. I definitely recommend this property

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenfo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-Mayfaire, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you wenfo1 for the wonderful review of your stay with us. We're so glad you enjoyed our full service restaurant located in the hotel and appreciated our high level of customer service throughout the property. Next time travel brings you back to Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, we hope to once again earn your business. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We chose the Hilton Garden Inn again to hold our annual fundraiser fashion show based on last year's great accommodations and this year was just as great if not better! All of the staff ensured we had everything we needed to make everything go seamlessly. From space to elegance, the Hilton Garden Inn provided a perfect setting for our volunteers, patrons and guests. I look forward to working with them again as they make it so easy. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meachamlcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-Mayfaire, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello meachamlcl. It is always our pleasure and honor to host your annual fundraiser fashion show. We truly enjoy having this wonderful event in our hotel. We look forward to hosting the fashion show again in 2013. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Amazing hotel with great staff! Online it said they had a hot tub, so I was disappointed they did not since it was a little too chilly for the pool that night. BUT I asked the lady at the front desk and she said we could go next door to their sister hotel Homewood Hilton and use theirs. So helpful with everything. When I booked I asked for feather pillows and they provided. Great service! Love the location at mayfair and close to harris teeter if you need groceries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chels815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-Mayfaire, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello chels815,
We're honored and delighted that you chose to stay with us for your Anniversary getaway. As you experienced, it is our superior customer service that distinguishes us from neighboring hotels. We hope to see you back with us before your next anniversary. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was a great place to check in for Christmas Eve night. As we were visiting family in Wilmington, we wanted a welcoming atmosphere to celebrate Christmas. As we walked into the lobby, we knew that we had found a holiday atmosphere to continue our family celebration. The front desk manager was very accommodating and pleasant. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean, and it was just what we needed to settle in "for a long winter night."

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donaihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-Mayfaire, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Ho. Ho. Ho! Thank you donaihill for choosing to stay with us on such a special night. Did you happen to see Santa come down the chimney? It was our pleasure to earn your business. Next time travel brings you back to beautiful Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, we hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
Address: 6745 Rock Spring Rd, Wilmington, NC 28405-3177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location in Wilmington and only 2 miles to beautiful Wrightsville Beach. HGI Mayfaire is located within the mixed-use development of Mayfaire Town Center; an easy drive to historic downtown Wilmington and the UNCW campus. Restaurants, outdoor shopping and IMAX movie theater complex are all within walking distance. Our full service Garden Grille & Bar restaurant, serves a cooked-to-order American breakfast, dinner as well as evening room service. The Pavilion Lounge is a great place to enjoy an evening cocktail with friends. Our patio features a putting green and spacious pool area. As great as our location and amenities are, it's the staff that makes a great hotel great. Come and experience real Southern hospitality at HGI Mayfaire. We look forward to earning your business very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Hotel Wilmington
Hilton Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing