We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riverwalk
Ranked #3 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Unfortunately when we were booking our stop off in Wilmington (as part of a road trip May 2012) I couldn’t find any accommodation which ticked all our boxes. Even the Hilton on the Waterfront had some terrible reviews. So we opted for this Inn.

A warm welcome as we were greeted by the owner and his tiny dog. The location of the Inn is very good, just a short walk to the waterfront and also the historic district.

The room was nice and seemed clean, especially the bathroom. The one thing I did struggle with is that the carpet was quite dirty. It had several stains on it and you could see the heavy dirt trail from the door through to the bathroom. The bed was massive, if a little too soft.

The breakfast was ample and vegetarian – cereal, cakes, bread, veggie sausage come to mind. There are bottles of water for you to take in the main entrance area, which was a nice touch.

Though there were no major complaints, I wouldn’t stay here again if I was in the area, the filthy carpet made me question the cleanliness of everything else. Also - with it being an old school house, they just couldn’t inject the homeliness you expect from an Inn. It’s a shame as the owners were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethGClaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
53
146
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

From the rooms to the front porch to the Innkeeper himself, the Clarendon Inn is full of Southern Charm. My two best friends and I recently graduated from college and we took a girl's trip to Wilmington, NC. We found this delightful B&B on TripAdvisor and had our hopes up from the reviews and pictures. Michael and his staff did not let us down, they exceeded our expectations. They were very accommodating to our travel plans (we were driving 8 hours so we arrived later than usual check-in) and had wonderful suggestions about what to do, see, and eat in Wilmington as well as Wrightsville Beach. The Inn was also perfectly located to walk anywhere downtown-just a few blocks from the main street in town. We had a wonderful stay at the Clarendon, and we would recommend staying here to anyone traveling to Wilmington. I will definitely be going back with my husband.

Room Tip: With three girls, we needed a room that had more than one bed. We stayed in Room 4 because of the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

From the first contact with Michael, my experience with Clarendon Inn was wonderful.
Upon arrival we discovered it was much more than what we expected,the pictures understated how unique and comforable the inn is. Michael continually went out of his way with a cheery attitude to assure we had anything we needed. Breakfast was abundant and his bisquits were the best I've had.
Our room was number 4 the Beach inspired room with queen size bed and Day Bed with Trundlewith bed. Each bed for an adult was large enough and very comfortable.
I would certainly stay here at my next visit to Wilmington.

Room Tip: I talked with Michael and switched rooms before arriving to arrange a bed per adult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB52012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in May. Great location. Off-street parking. Our room was tiny, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: If space is important to you, request a larger room. Ours was quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flex_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was the perfect spot to stay to enjoy historic Wilmington. Michael Pryor, the inn keeper, made sure we were as comfortable as possibe. (Thanks Michael!) We were in the green room, and loved it. The photo on the website doesn't do it justice. The bed was comfortable, very nice bathroom, and it was great having a fridge and microwave in the room. Popcorn while watching a movie at night is a treat. There was a good choice of breakfast items available with fresh fruit and good coffee. It was a bit rainy and overcast during our stay, but we did manage to have breakfast on the front porch a couple of times. There are cozy places to sit and read or have a drink on the front and back. The coffee pot in the room was nice to have. The free internet in the business office was very convenient. Everything is well maintained including the common areas.

The location is excellent. We left the car in the Clarendon's parking lot, and walked everywhere. It was convenient to come back for a rest before heading out for dinner. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and different. Size and number of beds in the room would be a determining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I liked this place as soon as I arrived. My room was tastefully decorated, with a comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. The breakfast in the mornings was quite good and there was a good bit of choice of what you wanted. I enjoyed the location as well - just a few blocks away from everything in the Historic District, you can easily walk anyway, to restaurants, antique stores, historic homes, etc. The Clarendon Inn really made my trip to Wilmington a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

When my conference's block of rooms was sold out, I quickly turned to TripAdvisor and wasn't disappointed with this venue. Actually, it was much preferred compared to the conference's hotel.

Not only is this place charming (I had room 6, the blue room), but every detail is attended to. They even provide a special hand towel for us make-up wearers. I love staying in places that provide both a mini fridge and coffee maker.

There are numerous outdoor patios to enjoy on the lovely, cool evenings to either read, take your laptop, or just enjoy a glass of wine.

The innkeepers are most accommodating and keep the place in great shape.

Plus, the Inn was a short, lovely walk into the historic downtown area.

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for my first visit to charming Wilmington!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodyc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 44 in Wilmington
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#29 of 44 in Wilmington
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Riverwalk
Address: 117 S 2nd St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401-4458 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age of 12. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing