We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff,even better food.”

Casey's Buffet Barbecue & Home Cookin
Ranked #32 of 691 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Takeout
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent staff,even better food.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was my first time going to casey's. The staff was polite and made you feel comfortable and at home. We were automatically seated when we walked in the door. The staff called us baby and darling and were truly attentive and went out of our way to make our stay the best it could be.

The food was even better, the mac and cheese was some of the best ever had, the fry chicken was moist and perfectly seasoned. Also the sweet potato soufflé was delicious, and the cheese biscuit was moist and very good, along with many other delicious food. There was also a much variety of food, from fry fish to rice and gravy, to collard greens.

The dessert was full of different foods. From 3 different cobblers, cheesecake, cakes, banana pudding, and many different pies, and even a ice cream machine.

The atmosphere was wonderful and felt right at home,it was calm and everybody seemed like they knew each other. The placed was packed, yet it seem like you had free spaced to walk and wasn't interfering in peoples personal space. It was a very low cost for lunch: $8.99 for adults and $3.99 for kids. Costing only $26 for me and my teenager and 2 kids.

It was a wonderful experienced and the food was great and the staff was excellent. I am defiantly going back to Casey's again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redskinsfanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    92
    30
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Stopped at fourths....”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Knuckles were great. The Chitlins were a rare treat. Beef ribs were on the bland side. Pulled pork and chicken (fried & roasted) were very good. The whole catfish was overly seasoned, mainly too salty. Their biscuits come with a piece of cheddar inside - I think I was the only person who didn't care for them. Mac n cheese, greens and beans were all very good.
The bread pudding was very good.
Valeria our waitress was attentive and great to chat with. The entire staff seemed interested in your enjoyment - very friendly place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“you wont regret stopping here--come hungry”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

our visit to this area brought a nice surprise for us--this buffet is one of the best I have experienced. there is plenty to choose from and you will not be disappointed. The price is not $7.99 plus drink as other people are stating--we paid about $26 for the two of us to eat buffets and drinks. but it was worth what we paid! I could not taste all the different home cooked foods but plan to visit again when in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barzdiprocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The outside doesn't look to hot, but the hotel suggested it and it was in every book I picked up while in carolina beach. My grandmother who is extremely picking enjoyed it! They have everything you can think of, fried chicken,baked chicken, pork chops, cabbage, I could go on and on. It was delicious, make sure you save room for dessert and it's all for 7.99. Did I mention they will fry you shrimp made to order, included in the price. Give it a try!

Helpful?
Thank Danielle1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great home cooking at a fantastic price”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you like fantastic home cooking at a great price, go to Casey's!! Adults eat for $7.99 ($7.19 for seniors), and the selection is incredible -- pulled pork, fried or baked chicken, chicken & dumplings, catfish, hushpuppies, green beans, limas (seasoned perfectly), sweet potatoes, corn, greens, mashed potatoes, boiled potatoes, Brunswick stew, buttery biscuits, coleslaw, potato salad, chicken salad, and a number of other items that we didn't get to. There is also a selection of desserts -- our favorite being the homemade bread pudding: it was like a cinnamon bun casserole -- yum! Drinks are extra. it's not a fancy place but it's the best deal around. We will definitely go back to Casey's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casey's Buffet Barbecue & Home Cookin also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Casey's Buffet Barbecue & Home Cookin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing