We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Staff -- Food NOT great.”

Casey's Buffet Barbecue & Home Cookin
Ranked #28 of 673 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff -- Food NOT great.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Keeping in mind that I am not from the south and may not understand what southern cooking is supposed to be like but I wouldn't imagine this is it. The staff was AMAZING, I have never been to a place where the staff was sooo sweet. With all that being said I really found the food to be pretty bad. It all tasted somewhat okay but all the food seemed to very very cheap. All the veggies clearly came from a can and none of it seemed sanitary ---I really don't understand where all the raving reviews come from, there is really nothing special at all about this place other than the staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarie4816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    90
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Southern Buffet at it's finest...”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We rode by Casey's and then decided to go in, it is a big southern buffet with all the meats, sides and desserts you would expect. Our server was "johnny on the spot" with all of our beverages and the buffet offerings were always piping hot and in abundance. The 'cue, fried chicken and chicken pot pie were delicious as well as the sweet potato souffle and the collard greens. The cobblers and bread pudding on the dessert bar were scrumptious as well. It is not fancy by any means but if you are in the mood for good 'ole southern comfort food it is the place to be!! oh and the dressing and okra were really good too!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwsmith901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Big Yummy”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have never seen a nicer staff! Told them I was from out of town and they made me feel like "family". Totally agree with how yummy the bread pudding was as well as everything I tried ( except the pig ear which I didnt really expect to be good). Go hungry

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Southern cooking”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A lot of the dishes had a really good "southern" type of flavor. I certainly got my money's worth of food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank wilmingtonMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bread Pudding!!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Awesome amount of variety Bread Pudding and Collards great
Come hunger and eat all you want. Very friendly staff

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casey's Buffet Barbecue & Home Cookin also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Casey's Buffet Barbecue & Home Cookin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing