We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and Awesome Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and Awesome Staff”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were impressed by the entire team at this Marriott location. We especially want to thank Donna Stramm at the front desk. She is a very warm, friendly and welcoming person who is an asset for this Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 601debrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Our staff is truly the best. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    104
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
77
112
14
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Three of us traveling on business, one overnight at this downtown gem. Front desk helped to show up self parking, directions to dining, many suggestions. Would stay again.

Breakfast staff were also great, helpful getting meal. My only disappointment is the breakfast sandwich was microwaved, kinda tough, so I only ate the inside portion. Won't be ordering that again.. haha

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for such a great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to Welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very pleased by the excellent Staff. Very friendly and made me feel really welcomed. Special thanks to a Valet named Joe (from Orlando, FL). Joe was helpful answering my questions of the area, and expressed a real feeling of welcome. This sort of service and appreciation is not found done so well at many hotles that I have stayed. Great job.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I am so proud of my team! Thank you for such a great review. we truly try to make every guest feel special. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
587 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

As I typically stay at Marriott properties whenever I travel (now personal stays compared to many years of business stays), it was very nice to stay at a new hotel. Everything about this Courtyard is first class from the room to the employees. The location is very convenient to the historic district and I liked the option of either having valet parking or self-parking in the parking garage across the street from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stucolco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for such a great review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to seeing you on a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We needed a room at the last second for downtown Wilmington. Grabbed this hotel without any research, unlike me, and from what I saw, if you want a hotel close to the lively area in downtown Wilmington, this is the place. Extremely clean, nicely decorated, seemingly more comfortable bests than standard Marriott, and a great location. Can't miss.

Room Tip: There is a small Starbucks in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! I am so glad that you found us and that you found your stay enjoyable. We hope to Welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Downtown Wilmington the weekend of June 6th, 2014 for a family function weekend. The hotel was wonderful. Nice rooms, decor, and service. Centrally located near the boardwalk, everything is within walking distance of the hotel. Just park and take in the sites. The hotel also was close to the area for the family function so that was a plus too. There is a Starbucks/Bistro in the lobby that serves a limited Starbucks menu and breakfast, lunch and dinner from the bistro. The sitting area was arrange nicely; providing pockets of sitting areas so that you and your group can converse quietly. There was even a large touch screen monitor that provided local weather and info about locations near the hotel. I was able to get a deal on Priceline for this location. For what I paid, and the niceness of the hotel, it was a steal!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCampbell202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. Our Starbucks and Bistro are open daily and our guests really seem to enjoy them. Our Go Board is a lot of fun too. It has all kinds of local information such as dinning, shopping and things to do in the Wilmington area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I were on a leisurely trip to NC and wanted to spend a couple of days in the downton historic district of Wilmington. We stayed at the brand new Courtyard Marriott and cannot say enough good things about it. The location is close to everything so that we could walk everywhere. From check-in, every single staff member made us feel welcome. Valet parking is available, but the parking garage is right next door and the desk will just give you a card to swipe in and out for only $8/day. The lobby is modern, comfortable, and very tastefully done. The Starbucks/lunch counter was great for breakfast. We didn't eat dinner there, so cannot comment. Too many good restaurants in the area. The small store had everything one might need, but it would have been convenient to have drink vending machines on the floors with the ice machines .

The pool area was spotless, with inviting towels laid out on the lounges and very refreshing.

The rooms were large, inviting and also tastefully appointed. Everything was new, spotlessly clean, AC and Wifi worked perfectly. Minifridge was handy for wine and beer. The very best thing was the bathroom that had a huge glass door shower stall, lots of counter space on vanity, great lighting, plenty of towels! If there was a negative at all, it would have been the lack of a safe for personal items in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirginiaJsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so glad that you and your husband enjoyed our hotel and the Wilmington area. The hotel is a wonderful getaway! Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
7.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.2 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District

Property: Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Address: 229 N 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4252
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With attractive and comfortable guest room accommodations, the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown/Historic District is sure to meet your lodging needs. Located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, in the Historic District, our hotel is the perfect choice for both the business and leisure traveler. We are conveniently located near UNC - Wilmington, Cape Fear Community College, PPD, Corning Glass Works, DuPont, International Paper, General Electric, and the Wilmington City Convention Center. Come enjoy a horse drawn carriage ride, or explore the USS North Carolina Battleship located on the historic riverfront, or spend a day at one of the many beaches Wilmington has to offer. With over 1,800 square feet of versatile event space and complimentary wireless internet access, this Wilmington, NC hotel creates the perfect setting for successful business engagements and memorable social gatherings. We look forward to Welcoming you to the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown/Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing