We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a beautiful property. The service was great. Donna, at the front desk, was wonderful to us all and made me feel welcome. The hotel is in a great location with plenty to do. I look forward to staying here the next time I am in Wilmington.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
I am so glad that you had such a "Wonderful" stay with us in our new downtown hotel! The team takes great pride in our hotel. The next time you are in the area, we would love to Welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    111
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
89
121
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at this Hotel on business within the first week of opening. What a beautiful property! Great, friendly, and well trained professional staff. Everyone including the Manager Tom were very accommodating. They have a bistro with great food and you can also purchase Starbucks there. Who doesn't love a good cup of Starbucks or one of their lattes? I really enjoyed their gym. It is equip with more than just your average treadmills. They have actual free weights, a weight bench, treadmills and ellipticals with their own TV’s. Very state of the art. There's also an excellent resistance machine designed for all different moves to target different areas of your body. Love it! The gym also overlooks their outdoor pool area which has an area off it with a fire pit. It was freezing when I was there and it was still a great place to hang around by the fire. They also have a hospitality suite which is opposite the gym and still overlooks the pool and fire pit. I attended a gathering there and it's a great space for small/ medium size gatherings. We used their meeting space which was a bigger and good size. The screen is almost movie size which made viewing presentations easy. I noticed their very nice boardroom nearby to the lobby. There is valet for parking with a fee since it is downtown but they have an excellent valet service. The Hotel is in the heart of Downtown within walking distance to the water, restuarants, and bars. It is about 10/15 minutes from the beach but I will definitely be back and stay there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ves2Getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
What a great review, thank you! I'm glad that you enjoyed our Bistro and a nice cup of Starbucks. We have the only Startbucks in Downtown Wilmington. Our team did put a lot of thought onto our gym, it is truly is wonderful! We look forward to seeing you again on your return trip! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I visit Wilmington with my family several times a year and this will be my hotel of choice for any future stays. The staff was great. When I arrived at the hotel, the valet driver parked my car for me which worked out great for me since I was traveling with my family and a lot of luggage. The parking deck is located across the street so I would recommend the valet service if you are traveling with a lot of luggage. The location is 2 blocks from the riverfront and has several boutique shops within walking distance which was great for my wife to rack up my credit card bill.

The rooms were very comfortable and trendy in decor. We ate breakfast at the Bistro each morning and food was great. The hotel also serves Starbucks which was a plus. I will always stay here for any future visits to Wilmington and definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Downtown and enjoy sightseeing the city by foot. All downtown attractions are within a 5 minute walking distance.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying a little more and asking for the corner king suite. Floor to ceiling window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazmaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Our New Downtown Wilmington Hotel just opened a little over three weeks ago! Thank you for being one of our first guest's and thank you for such a wonderful review. Our team truly is proud of our Courtyard!

Our Bistro and Starbucks have been a "hit" with our guest's. I hope the next time you stay with us that the family will enjoy our Courtyard on the 2nd floor of the hotel. It has a great pool, wonderful seating and a fire pit.

We look forward to Welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Everyone at the Courtyard in Wilmington was very helpful and accomidating.Donna at the front desk was extremely helpful. I exspecially loved the starbucks coffee as I am a hardcore drinker.
The housekeeping staff went above and beyond to remove the feather pillows from my room upon my request as I am allergic. My room was clean and fresh and ready fro my return daily. I look forward to another wonderful stay with the Courtyard staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Donna truly is Wonderful! Thank you for the kind words! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forwad to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed this past weekend at this location to commute to Southport for my brother in law's wedding. We originally planned to stay Friday night and stay with relatives Saturday. When we walked into room 501, my husband said we are booking this room for Saturday night! The room was the size of two Courtyard Marriott queen/ queen rooms across town near Wrightsville Beach. The beds were comfortable and there was ample storage space throughout the large room. We were a bit disappointed to find there was no in room microwave alongside the mini fridge as the Marriott website stated. We brought our 20 month old along with my mom to baby sit and there was so much room for him to play and not bump into furniture and fixtures. The bathroom had a large shower that was lovely. Valet was prompt and kind. I made a stop by the Bistro to get coffee before running errands and the counter staff was kind and quick. There was a Saint Patrick's day parade Saturday morning and we ran into many parade goers that morning and that evening many downtown nightlife seekers, but the hotel did an amazing job with soundproofing. Housekeeping was great keeping the room fresh and clean. We are already making plans to return in the very near future with hopes of getting room 501 once again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missbell910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelNC27410, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
What a GREAT review, thank you! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Room 501 is a great room and the rest of them are too! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to stay at this hotel a couple weeks after it opened it up and had a great time! The staff are extremely friendly and professional and the location is very convenient. As a single female traveler I was able to walk around and find places to eat without an issue. There is no parking since the hotel is in a downtown district but the hotel provides a very prompt valet service . There is also a really cool fire pit outside by the pool that you can sit around in the evening. If ever I'm in the Wilmington area again I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forever_yours_390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelNC27410, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for the review! The team and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in our new hotel! I look forward to seeing you on a return trip to Wilmington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

What a beautiful hotel and attentive staff! Donna, the Front Desk agent, was very welcoming and friendly. She was a joy to see in the morning and did a great job preparing a Starbucks beverage for me and my associates. I am looking forward to staying again very soon.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor, 614. Had a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelNC27410, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We are threaded that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for being one of our first guest's. Our team truly believes in Marriott's Sprit to Serve and I am glad that they took such good care of you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
1,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
7.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District

Property: Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Address: 229 N 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4252
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With attractive and comfortable guest room accommodations, the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown/Historic District is sure to meet your lodging needs. Located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, in the Historic District, our hotel is the perfect choice for both the business and leisure traveler. We are conveniently located near UNC - Wilmington, Cape Fear Community College, PPD, Corning Glass Works, DuPont, International Paper, General Electric, and the Wilmington City Convention Center. Come enjoy a horse drawn carriage ride, or explore the USS North Carolina Battleship located on the historic riverfront, or spend a day at one of the many beaches Wilmington has to offer. With over 1,800 square feet of versatile event space and complimentary wireless internet access, this Wilmington, NC hotel creates the perfect setting for successful business engagements and memorable social gatherings. We look forward to Welcoming you to the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown/Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing