We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese Restaurant in Wilmington, NC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szechuan 132

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Szechuan 132
Ranked #151 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Restaurant in Wilmington, NC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

The owners, Joseph and Sally Hou, go out of their way to make your dining experience a good one with experienced chefs, waiters, and waitresses. The great food is consistently well-prepared with fresh ingredients. As other raters have mentioned, if you want something that is not on the menu, ask for it because it may be possible to get it. One or two other Asian restaurants may offer more non-Chinese (Thai, Vietnamese, etc.) food but this one offers the best Chinese food. I have been eating at Szechuan 132 since 1995 and have never had a bad meal!

I read the very few, extremely negative reviews by others and, IF they are accurate, they are unusual exceptions not the rule.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DocNott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I've dined here 3 times and was very pleased on each occasion. The décor is very tasteful, which is uncommon for most Chinese venues. They pour a good drink and the service is outstanding. On my last visit I had the orange duck which was outstanding. I've not had wonderful Peking duck since leaving Taiwan, but with a couple of days notice, they can prepare it. I'll let you know how it is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
285 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Food during busy time!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Carol and I stopped in at Szechwan 123 after church this afternoon. Quite busy when we arrived but seated right around because table of two available. Despite being busy, service was good and the food was tasty and good. I had the crab raggoon along with the walnut shrimp.

Service was quite good given the busy nature of the time (i.e. 12:30 pm). Had not been to Szechwan in quite awhile but was surprisingly satisfied with our experience. The owner was hospitable and concerned that we were treated well and had a positive experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Asian delight on an east coast taste bud ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was looking online for a "decent," Asian based cuisine in Wilmington when I came across an add for this restaurant. It had 3 stars compared to the others and was located at the end of a strip mall, but once I got there and went inside, I was in another part of the world completely.

I grew up in the South Pacific and Asia so the lite smells coming from the kitchen, had me rumerating of past meals and happier times as a youth.

The service by Mr. Joe Hou and his staff was second to none, and there was no courtesy or item not done to absolute perfection.

The food was incredibly flavorful, exceptionally well displayed and did not have the fake, overly sweet flavors generally found in chain buffet or take out restaurants.

The ambiance was so calming and peaceful with simple designs and lighting that had you relaxed within seconds of being seated and there was no piped in music that attempted to make you feel rushed or pretentiously relocated to a Chinese setting.

Did I mention the quality of service and attitude of the owner and staff? It was like meeting old family friends for the first time and when you left, Mr Hou knew your name and would undoubtedly remember it. I watched as locals returned and he (Mr. Hou) greeted them, asked about family members by name and even discussed how to top what they had since their last visit.

Excellent on all levels ... I will be back.

Pros: Everything
Cons: Not enough time to try their entire menu .. no small portions!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimington NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Wilmington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Food is excellent, service is efficient and pleasant.
Family owned and operated for 25 years.
Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan 132 also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Szechuan 132? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing