We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally....A Great Chinese Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szechuan 132

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Szechuan 132
Ranked #153 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finally....A Great Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I live in Sunset Beach, NC but travel 50 miles when we want good Chinese Food. Around us the only places are fast food type Chinese. For us it is worth the trip. The lunch specials are very good but if you don't want something off that menu there are several others items on the regular menu that they will make as a lunch special. Since we have found Szechuan 132 we have stopped looking for another Chinese restaurant. Fresh food, great service and lovely atmosphere and prices that won't break the bank.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“New York quality Chinese food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This Is the only Chinese restaurant in Wilmington, that would not go out of business in New York in a month. In fact, the quality here is sufficient to make it a viable competitor in New York. All dishes consist of fresh ingredients, properly cooked and professionally served. If you don't see what you want on the menu ask for Joe, the owner, he will bend over backwards to try and accommodate your request. He also accepts special orders, a day or so in advance, my favorite is lobster Cantonese which is in heard of anywhere else in Wilmington.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service and Atmosphere Good...Food Passable, Consistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visits to Szechuan 132 recently (live here) have not been that great. The atmosphere and service are very nice, but honestly there is NO FLAVOR to the fried rice or wong tong soup, and the noodle is too thick in the wong tong soup. Entrees are ok, but I've only eaten at this restaurant during lunch. Wilmington needs better choices for Asian foods.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GOOD - FREQUENT WILMINGTON RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Szechuan 132 is my favorite restaurant in Wilmington. Mike and his does an excellent job in the sum total of making chinese food taste perfectly excellent each and every time.

I am a creature of habit and tend to order the same thing from a restaurant, simply because I know what works. My wife, she will try something different each time - sometimes with less than satisfying results.

I enjoy the hot and sour soup, egg rolls, and usually a beef or chicken dish - along with egg foo yung. Thats it. She nearly always trys a fish dish. She is NOT a chinese food fan - but even she will grudingly admit that Szechuan 132 does what they do very very well.

I have eaten at Mike's - mmmmmmm - 25+ times. For lunch and dinner. Prices are good. Portions more than enough. Service is always prompt.

Its a multiple restaurant of the year for very good reason. It should be on your short list for a great meal in Wilmington.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It is just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch. This is the 2nd time we have been here. It was ok, nothing better than that. We had the chicken and beef special had to send the chicken back as it was not eatable. The beef was just ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank LovinithereinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan 132 also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Szechuan 132? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing