We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavorful food with a nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of K-38 Baja Grill

K-38 Baja Grill
Ranked #226 of 668 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Please visit our website for our daily specials and to find information about our sister restaurants, K38 Baja Grill (Oleander Drive), Las Olas Mexi-Q Grill, Tower 7 (Wrightsville Beach), Cafe Del Mar (Wrightsville Beach)
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Flavorful food with a nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Mexician restaurants typically have very good service with attentive waitstaff however K-38 did not. The bartenders were so busy talking to their friends that they ignored the rest of the customers sitting at the bar. We waited 24 minutes for our drinks (yes we timed them) as did most of the people the bartenders didn't know. We were pleased when our table was ready hoping the service would improve, however it did not. The waiter was so flighty we thought he was drunk. He couldn't get the orders right because he didn't write them down, couldn't remember that we needed silverware and couldn't be bothered to see if our orders were right once they arrived. Sadly they were not. However, once the orders were corrected, we were very pleased with the taste. The seafood dishes were very fresh and the seasoning was perfect.. The atmosphere of the grill was very pleasing with multiple rooms and walls so the noise from the bar didn't carry thru the entire restaurant. For the food alone, we will be back however we really hope management takes note of what is going on with the bartenders and wait staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbbyCorrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just keeps on satisfying.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Every time we visit the area we have to visit the Baja Grill. The last time we came we had a party of 7, we came in 20 min before closing time and the service was still top notch and fast. Well this time was no different, walked in and was immediately seated. The waitress to our table with in minutes to take our drink order and leave some chips and salsa. When she quickly returned with our drinks she was ready to take our order. Once placed order arrived with in 10 minutes and was delicious. Our glasses never were empty and our waitress was very attentive and easy on the eyes as well. I will continue to visit this place each and every time we visit the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Divemaster43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The tortoise became the hare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I wrote a scathing review a couple of months ago about the deteriorating quality and service at K-38 (and it was well founded). Slow service, inattentive servers, bartenders operating in another universe were just a few of the complaints.
Well, I came back last night and, wow, what a change. Seated and waittress was at the table within a few minutes. The beer was brought to the table quickly. The food was brought within 15-20 minutes. The manager was going around being attentive to all.
Nice to know that this place that was once my favorite Wilmington restaurant is embracing the standards of quality and great customer service it once held. Great job!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blown away with the food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wow this place has ruined my taste for cali/mexican food forever. First the location is great for anyone that lives around Porter Neck. The Salsa is BY FAR the best made salsa I have ever eaten at any mexican restaurant. The service was spectacular and the main dish was an orgasm of flavor. I can not wait to eat there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice nouveau Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Mexican cuisine with a nouveau twist. A menu full of specialty tacos and other items found on a typical Mexican menu. The fish and shrimp tacos are extremely good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caleb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K-38 Baja Grill also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to K-38 Baja Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing