We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park”

New Hanover County Arboretum
Ranked #11 of 110 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was a wonderful small garden but truly worthy of a visit. Well done well maintained. Definitely go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank smsAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bayboro
Level Contributor
263 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“NOTHING TO WRITE HOME ABOUT!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was an ok place just to kill time until our hotel room was available. They did have some of the prettiest and best smelling roses I have ever came across!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavisFamilyBayboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful and free!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was a very scenic place beautifully landscaped with extra eye catching views. Kids (and adults) will love the "once upon a time" house along with the Water dragon. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy the views (maybe picnic?) and take a rest. It's not a huge place, you can easily spend a non-rushed hour here. Would also be a good place for elderly or those with challenging mobility-wise since the trails are all flat. We were too late for the gift shop -closed at 4 pm but will definitely return if in the area again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A botanical garden/arboretum worth seeing”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a gorgeous place to visit. And, as I write this review, it is FREE. As a professional photographer I've used this location for portraits. Weddings can be arranged here as well. It would be hard to find a nicer, more beautiful place to be married ... or just for a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than an Arboretum”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Although highly rated, we were somehow still surprised at how delightful this free and beautifully landscaped space is. It is run by the NC Extension Service and it is as creatively kept -- don't miss the children's section-- as any we've seen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 404Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Hanover County Arboretum also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to New Hanover County Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing