We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy to your tummy ice cream!”

Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy
Ranked #2 of 28 Dessert in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yummy to your tummy ice cream!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Loved the ice cream, but beware it will spoil your dinner if you get it in the late afternoon! Guess due to high milk fat content. Great flavors. Didn't like the long wait on a Sunday afternoon - ~30 people in front of us and we waited for 20'…however, guess that shows how good it is for people to be willing to wait in that line! Get the French Silk and Caramel Salted ….YUM!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soosun3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    206
    43
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brought clients there”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a nice restaurant, value, service, very attentive to our needs. My clients had a nice time, we were very well treated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Special treat for little ones and their parents!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We visit friends frequently in Wilmington. Usually, I just purchase a water and a scoop for my sons. On our last trip, however, I indulged...and it was indulgence at its finest! Such a wonderful treat and great atmosphere on the river.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernPKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the calories.”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Regarding the ice cream, it's eh. I had higher expectations (esp based on the line), but the ice cream was nothing to write home about. There's better out there, including at the grocery store or Whole Foods. I actually found it pretty bland - same w the cone. I took two bites of the cone and tossed it. Not worth the calories or the $6.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcwjcw74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The fudgie brownie ice cream was good, the pistachio lacked taste. But, the waffle cone was fresh and delicious, the best both me and my husband had ever had. Portions were good sized. $16.00 for 2 double scoops, a little expensive I think!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rpboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing