We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circa 1922

Circa 1922
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1922 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Market Street
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food here is outstanding both in quality and value. Excellent service. Would definitely return on my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dingle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    151
    55
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tapas, wait staff, and environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We weren't very hungry, so we decided to have tapas. Three for $12.00 was a deal and really satisfied our hunger. Outstanding taste and our waiter Evan was delightful! Even got the opportunity to see a movie star. We are hoping to return in the near future for entrées.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“If u can't satisfied here....u can't b satisfied!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The filet was perfectly prepared...the potatos were a little cold and they happily got me fresh ones....otherwise outstanding. .....bread pudding dessert was best I ever had.....bartender was the right mix of engaging and service oriented......the best meal I've had in a long time and we eat out...A LOT!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

After all the great reviews I was excited to bring my husband here for a romantic birthday dinner. We love sushi and asked about making a roll without avocado. The waiter was a little hesitant but said ok. Then we asked if the mango was in it ( we've never had it with mango) and he stopped us and said they are not allowed to make too many accommodations because it was Tuesday and they do half price sushi on Tuesdays. Ok, we didn't ask to change it but just inquired about how it was made. Either way it should have been made the way we request since we weren't asking for something outrageous. They were not aware of what was on the pre fixe menu. To me, this should be second nature to the staff. The meal was good but I just expected more. The place itself is beautiful though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelysaRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Circa 1922, a favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wow, I hate to give Circa a great review because I'm selfish and don't want it to get too crowded! But we've lived in Wilmington, NC, for 11 years and Circa was our first favorite, and remains on top of the list. We love the tapas menu, although they also feature a regular dinner menu. Be sure to save room for one of their yummy desserts!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieBWilmingtonNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1922 also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Circa 1922? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing