We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and mostly fried. Try Georges instead!”
Review of Pilot House

Pilot House
Ranked #16 of 691 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Overpriced and mostly fried. Try Georges instead!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Overpriced and mostly fried. Lovely location, and it was not terrible, but everyone raves about it, we have been here 2 or 3 times and never overly impressed. I only go if a friend really wants to. Try Georges instead!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    202
    79
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Tasty, well prepared”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Went here for supper, service was great and courteous. Had the grouper with shredded Sweet potato over fresh greens - Delicious !!! Wife had the flounder, it was also Very tasty. Bread basket had corn bread and whole wheat bread - good.
River view was a plus. Will return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peteb301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What happened "Pilot House?"”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We try to make it to the Wilmington area every year, and the Pilot House was always one of our favorite parts of the trip. This year was a huge disappointment. The hostesses acted as though we were intruding as soon as we entered. We asked to be seated outside and were escorted there only to find that the large table we were being led to was already occupied. The hostess was not happy with this considering that there were only two patrons seated there even though several smaller tables were available. We ordered the scallops Rockefeller for a starter. Half the scallops were raw to the point that they were still pink and cold! Thankfully they were taken off the bill, but unfortunately this really put a damper on the rest of the meal. Our crab legs were wonderful, but my poor sister-in-law's pasta dish was cool when it arrived and had puddles of butter floating on top. She couldn't even bring herself to eat half the dish, and honestly I can understand why. We did enjoy the new bread offerings, and were very happy to see your delectable cornbread still in the basket, but I'm not sure that we will be as inclined to make this a stop in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dgolddragon2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We enjoyed nice lunch at the Pilot. The seafood chowder was excellent as was the home made bloody mary. Reasonabaly priced. Enjoy the deck overlooking the river. The sister restaurant, Elijahs, next door, is also very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 197448562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food and...”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

good sevice with a nice view too of the Cape Fear River!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kopearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot House also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Pilot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing